Hunker Down

I think that when humans are going through a period of stress, instinct kicks in. Our natural reaction is fight or flight. And thus, you will face your stress head on and fight through  it or you will do like I did, turn and run away and withdraw.

I probably talk about my work life a bit too much on this here blog. It’s been a stressful point in the almost 20 years (!!!) I’ve been in the corporate arena. I’ve made some choices early on that are starting to affect me now and because I am married now and have another person whose welfare I must consider, I’m a bit angry with myself. But that’s neither here nor there, at this point. God has blessed me yet again. My contract at my current plantation ends today and I start another one on Monday at a new plantation. But getting from point A to point B has been difficult this time. It has been stressful. I have been worried and my faith has taken a tremendous hit. My normally cheery personality has not been so cheery. It has affected me, it has affected my husband. He doesn’t like to see me upset, but at the same time he cannot carry my burdens for me. He can encourage me, but I also have to encourage myself.

And so I haven’t been writing, mainly because I haven’t had all that much to say. I’ve been hunkered down in my little hole in my mind, stressed out. When you are in your feelings, whatever it may be, it’s hard to see that it will pass. But it always does.

I blog because I like to get things out of my head and into a written format and to share a bit of my life with the people who read my small corner of the internet, because in a sense you are my online family. And while I like to put up pretty pictures, recipes and funny stories, it’s important to share, to some extent, that I am human and have my own personal struggles.  My struggle may not be your struggle, but no one person’s  issue is bigger or smaller than another else’s.

I would submit to you to not hunker down in the depths of your mind and wallow in your stuff. Talk to someone, get it on paper, cry it out, do what ever you need to do to make yourself whole again.

My coworker sent me this video one day when I was particularly in my feelings and sometimes I just have to put this bad boy on repeat:

Mary Mary – “Go Get It”

Don’t run away from whatever it is that you may be dealing with. Fight through it. You are going to come out the other side just fine. I promise. 🙂

(Shout out to Tazzee and Jeanine for checking on me.)

9 thoughts on “Hunker Down

  1. Congrats on the new gig! I know this has not been an easy road, but be encouraged that doors are continuously opening for you, even if its not the exact situation you want. Hope the newest gig is going well. Update us soon!

  2. I know this wasn’t written specifically for me but thank you. I needed it.

  3. “Talk to someone, get it on paper, cry it out, do what ever you need to do to make yourself whole again.”

    YES YES and AMEN! Do what ever you need to do to save yourself. I’m glad you made it through it. Prayer changes things!

  4. Thanks, Tiffany. Happy things are better for you now.

  5. I feel you. Oh, how I feel you. I’ve found a little comfort when listening to VaShawn Mitchell’s Turning Around For Me. I know a breakthrough is coming for the both of us. I just don’t know when, but we have to just push through each day. I believe that this brings us much closer to the completion of our trials. I have to keep thinking this. Otherwise, I know I couldn’t make it. Love you, Soror.

  6. I’m going to post this that a FB friend of mine put up today. It’s a little long, but hopefully it will bless you like it blessed me.

    “There is nothing — no circumstance, no trouble, no testing — that can touch me until, first of all, it has gone past God and Christ, right through to me.

    If it has come that far, it has come with some great purpose, which I may not understand at the moment.

    But, as I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him
    and accept it as coming from the throne of God,
    for some great purpose of blessing to my own heart,
    no sorrow will ever disturb me,
    no trial will ever disarm me,
    no circumstance will cause me to fret,
    for I SHALL rest in the joy of what my Lord is.”

    Be blessed, TIH
    Crystal

  7. Now it’s time to dance like David danced!!!!

  8. I totally feel where you’re coming from. I was in hunker down mode too but it wasn’t evident because I don’t post much. You have been in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

