Your Money Vs. Your Mouth

I was scrolling through my FB feed  this morning on my phone, whilst fighting to pry myself out of bed and I saw a status from one of my sorority sisters. My soror is married to a woman and in her status she noted that while she loved some Chik-Fil-A, they would no longer be getting her dollars because the founder of the fast food chain does not support gay marriage.

There was a similar discussion in one of my FB groups about the same topic, and my response in a nutshell was that if I boycotted every company that took a stand on a particular issue then I might not have a lot of places to shop. Target donated dollars to anti-gay marriage campaigns, Wal-Mart is known for it’s union-busting activities, hell my own employer is a major defense contractor. My rationale was what I CAN do is strive to treat people decently in my own personal life to the best of my ability.

However, when it came to Komen Foundation pulling funds from Planned Parenthood, I was the first to click the donate button. So what makes me any different than my sorority sister? Not much I guess. She’s choosing to spend her dollars her way and I’m choosing to spend mine my way. But what about you? Do you put your money where your mouth is by choosing to financially support (or not support) businesses or causes that reflect your personal views? Do you find that the two sometimes conflict?

Holla at me in the comments.

 

15 thoughts on “Your Money Vs. Your Mouth

  1. If the man had said CFA was refusing to serve the LGBT community, then I could totally understand the boycott. But him saying he doesn’t believe in Gay marriage is not a reason to try to bring the Company to it’s knees. It’s a Christian company, what do people expect?

    I could talk about this issue for days. I was at the CFA headquarters last month and it was like Utopia. I want to be there all the time and I support CFA and will continue to do so. Hell, the founder even told me he liked my hair and touched it!

    Trust me when I say, CFA ain’t worried about people suddenly not eating there. This will blow over when the next trendy boycott comes along. God will continue to bless this business. What other fast food restaurant would be #2 while being closed on Sundays?

  2. The man doesn’t believe in gay marriage and said so – not sure why he’s being criminalized for it – we don’t all agree on anything and life is not going to stop and wait for us all to be on one accord 24/7. If he’d said his stores were going to discriminate against LGBT customers/employees, a boycott would make more sense so me. Not to mention the fact that I’m pretty sure he’s never agreed with gay marriage, so why everyone is all alarmed and militant at this time, I truly don’t understand. But folks will do what they believe is right for them and if boycotting CFA makes them feel better about life, boycott on.

  3. I rarely eat at Chik-Fil-A. The COO sharing his personal views won’t keep me from going there. Like you said TIH: “… if I boycotted every company that took a stand on a particular issue then I might not have a lot of places to shop.”

  4. I think the Komen issue and Chick-Fil-A are apples to oranges. For one, Komen and Planned Parenthood are non-profits. Cathey was expressing his personal opinion which he is entitled to have and own a successful fast food chain. …I’ve never seen a Chick-Fil-A actively or in their policies ban or discriminate against the LGBT community. I’ve never seen a Chick-Fil-A in the hood either but I digress. People should vote with their dollars. but there is always a line at Chick-Fil-A.

  5. I agree. If we start boycotting every single business that does not think the way we want them to think, we might as well weave our own fabric, sew our own clothes and farm our own food. #EatMorChikin

    And another thing, throughout my FB and Twitter feeds, it’s always the same folks that are always down with boycotting whatever the trendy topic is at the time. The same folks that were down with boycotting Target and Walmart will forget they talked all of that “They ain’t neva seeing another dime of my money” ish and be Instagramming their asses off from those stores. That’s why I don’t take them serious.

    • “The same folks that were down with boycotting Target and Walmart will forget they talked all of that “They ain’t neva seeing another dime of my money” ish and be Instagramming their asses off from those stores. ”

      I thought the same thing.

      Just like I said on Twitter, ain’t nothing coming betwixt me, my lemonade, nuggets and Polynesian sauce. I’m not shocked at the outcry but am by the number of people that were shocked by his stance. They are closed on Sunday’s (as is Hobby Lobby) which automatically translates to me “Christian Based not Pro LGBT”.

  6. Everyone has a line. While I support gay marriage, it doesn’t hit close enough to home for me to miss out on a limited run banana pudding milkshake. On the flip side, let me be jamming to the radio when a R. Kelly song comes on and I immediately change the station and that’s not even putting money directly in his pocket. Different, but the same.

  7. I don’t really get caught up. If a particular store/restaurant/anything has something that I want, I purchase it. I donate to a few causes that are important to me.

  8. I totally agree with Cassandra. Chik Fila has LONG been known as a Christian owned organization. He closes on Sunday because he stands by his strong Christian beliefs and is willing to give up your Sunday monies to support his own stance. For the life of me, I can not see what people are up in arms about. Anyone with good common sense should have known the man was against gay marriage. Just because he said it out loud does not excuse your (the general you/your) ostrich ignorance. If you don’t want to spend your money there, trust me, it is not going to change his beliefs.

    Now as far as petitions, marches and boycotts…..Yeah, if the actions would help change something, I am all for it. But hell, I can’t keep up with the seven layers of ownership to know who I need to be boycotting if NBC says or does something stupid. Do you have any idea how many pots they have a spoon in? Please, I don’t have time to fight every cause out there that goes against my personal beliefs. I have helped in some areas where it personally affected me or my circle of concern, but other than that, nope, I can’t keep up with all the drama.

    • It’s not changing anything here. I have two restaurants near me. And both had drive-thru lines wrapped around the building with a person directing parking lot traffic.

    • “He closes on Sunday because he stands by his strong Christian beliefs and is willing to give up your Sunday monies to support his own stance.”…POINT!!!

      “I can’t keep up with the seven layers of ownership to know who I need to be boycotting if NBC says or does something stupid.”…Man some of those companies are so layered, we wouldn’t have anywhere to shop (Tiffany)!

      I respect people’s right not to spend their money where they don’t feel comfortable. I gave up on that, on a grand scale, back in the 80’s when I realized how many companies and products Proctor & Gamble were involved in after I swore I wouldn’t buy their stuff because supposedly they were devil worshipers and racists. :-/

  9. I can’t donate to causes or march in protests or sign petitions or anything like that because I’m a working journalist. So one of the few things I can do is withhold my money from businesses that conduct themselves in fashion that doesn’t jibe with my beliefs. That’s all the voice I can have and remain employed in this business. Sigh.

  10. I think people do what is easy and advertise. Maybe boycotting chic fil a is hard for people. I like their sauce but I don’t get what is so vital about the chicken. I would imagine shareholders of various companies have various beliefs, and donate to various causes. But chic fil a is easy, because media has picked up the story.

  11. I think they can conflict…but we all know that Chik Fil A touts itself as a Christian company, so it doesn’t surprise me that they don’t support gay marriage. Every company has its issues. I still eat there.

  12. I think people should do what they want and makes them feel comfortable. I agree that if I decided to boycott every business that did something I didn’t like I wouldn’t be able to shop anywhere. I did however decide to no longer support the Susan G. Komen foundation. Will I eat at a chick f la? Hmmm there isn’t one near me and by the time I see one when I’m traveling in the south I may forget that I’m boycotting them lol!

Leave a Reply

