There’s An App For That

This year I resolved to finally get my life better organized in terms of remembering important dates and tasks as well as coordinating the social calendars for two people instead of one. So Google Calendar and Tasks have become good friends of mine. Whenever we have bills due, or there is a event coming up, I’m getting into the habit of noting it on the calender and setting a reminder.

But I am, like most of us, constantly on the go and need to be able to access information on the run, so for the last few months I’ve been downloading (and uninstalling) apps and programs that I can use on my phone and tablet, when I’m not in front of the PC.

I’m using SpringPad  (Android/iOS) to organize my thoughts. If I see a recipe, or a hot pair of shoes while I’m browsing online, I “spring” the link to one of the various notebooks I’ve set up and I can come back to it later. I have notebooks set up for clothes I want for the spring, recipes, and vacation spots that Myron and I have discussed.

I’m using Taskos (Android) to manage my to do list. I like that Taskos is simple and easy to use and it syncs with Google Tasks. It’s not fancy but it gets the job done.

I’m using Business Calendar (Android) to manage my Google Calendar. Google Calendar is nice and all but the app for phone/tablet is rather plain. Business Calendar has features such as:

Views for “week”, “4-day”, “month”, and so on, you start with a month view and can tap and drag on a certain set of days to shrink the view to those days. It’s really well done. Tapping on a specific day brings up a small pop-up of that day’s events, and you can swipe to an agenda view if you’d rather see your month that way. It has a list of calendars at the bottom from which you can show and hide different calendars, though it gets a bit unruly if you have a lot of calendars.” – (Source: Lifehacker.com)

Business Calendar also syncs with Google Calendar. The only complaint I have is that it takes 2 apps to do the job for me. I haven’t found an app yet that will manage my calendar and tasks together, at least one that I am willing to pay for. All the apps I listed above are free.

I’m carrying around a mini-computer all day. I might as well make the most of them, so I don’t have to remember every little detail!

So you’re uber connected, right? You have a smartphone, laptop, maybe a tablet too, right? Well with all that technology at your fingertips what apps or software programs are you using to organize your life? Or are you still using a day planner or kicking it old school with a pad and pen to keep track of your activities? Any other cool apps you want to share? Let me know in the comments.

6 thoughts on “There’s An App For That

  1. I use a paper calendar. I like using paper. I also input dates into iCal because its set up to add my stuff to his calendars. I prefer having my paper calendars and notebook in my purse and using those. For my bills, I use a big paper notebook but I pretty much have bill due dates memorized.

    I have all the technology but paper works best for me.

  2. I like Springpad but it’s not as visually appealing as I like.

    I use Mint for finances, OneLiveDesktop for all my Microsoft stuff, I have dropbox on my work pc, home pc, iphone and ipad, and wunderlist for lists and whatnot.

  3. I do a lil of both. I still have actual planners (1 for personal and 1 for work) and I use ScatterBrain on my iPhone.

  4. Two out of three… I also use ‘Taskos’ and ‘Business Calendar’ for the same reasons that you do. For business calendar, I like that I can send an appointment from my work outlook calendar and vice versa and the invitation is recognized by both applications.

    I use ‘Evernote’ for my thoughts. I have different notebooks set up in that (like you mentioned)…Groceries (for my shopping list), Books/Music/Movies I want, recipes, etc. Check out that app and see if you like it if SpringPad isn’t giving you everything you need.

    For bills/credit/utility accounts I use PageOnce. It sends reminders when the due date is about 7 days out and you can set up manual reminders for those bills/utilities that PageOnce doesn’t recognize.

    I really enjoy my Android phone…

    • Hey, Dee! I tried Evernote and it was too complicated for my feeble mind..LOL!!

      Did you read my tablet review, ma’am..I was looking for your comments!

      I am going to try out that PageOnce app, thanks for the tip!

  5. I use my work outlook calendar for everything which links to my iPhone. I don’t have it linked to my iPad since I generally only use it at home or when I’m traveling.

Leave a Reply

