Drop Everything And Read!

I have almost 300 books on this thing!

So I did a little updating to the page on my blog where I was tracking the books I read in 2011. You can take a look at it here. I read 25 books! Not bad, not bad at all! I slowed down in the 4th quarter a bit but I finished the year out with a book in December. I think I’ll shoot for 30 books this year.

One thing I noticed is that per my usual, I am heavy on thrillers and light on chick lit and romance. I don’t really read “literary fiction” at all. Guess I’m not that cultured after all. *shrugs*

I do have some non-fiction that I really need to get to, such as Warmth Of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot so I’m going to bump them up on my to-be-read pile.

How many books did you read this past year? Have a goal in mind? What genres do you typically read? Gonna branch out a bit?

20 thoughts on “Drop Everything And Read!

  1. I think I read about 7 books last year, but that’s only because I only recently resumed my novel reading. For years I was on a magazine and articles kick, then I remembered, “I used to read books!” LOL I’ve read 1 book so far this year. I’m currently reading an Ann Rule true crime novel. I guess I’ll probably read 1 or 2 books per month in 2012.

    My genre is crime. True or fictional. Sometimes I’ll get in the mood to read a light weight romance novel with some kind of crime/mystery lurking in the background. I also like books that are set in Europe, Africa, or some other far away location.

    My husband is a movie fanatic, so I’ve watched more movies in the past 5 years than I’ve ever watched in my entire LIFE.

  2. I sat a goal to read 15 books last year. I met that goal. This year I’m going for 25. I like any type of book except sci-fi. Mystery books are my fav.

    A good way to keep track of books you have read is goodreads.com. There’s also an app called MyBooks. I use this to keep track of my books I have read and books I want to read. It also syncs with goodreads.com

  3. I started keeping track…but fell off. I keep saying I am going to do good reads to keep track…but haven’t made it there. I probably read about 40-50. I decided to participate in a couple of reading challenges to make sure I maintain my reading level.

  4. Hmmm, I haven’t kept track either. I can pull out the reading list from my book club. That’s about ten books. But I read outside of that as well. I think last year was when I went through the whole Bones collection and that was 13 books. I will definitely have to keep track this year. This month’s book club selection is Some Things I Never Thought I’d Do by Pearl Cleage. I am also reading on my nook, The Preacher’s Bride. It was a freebie off of Christianbooks.com. I don’t have a specific genre. I just don’t do sci-fi. And the nook is awesome on the treadmill. Just set it to Extra Large font and it’s no problem at all to read and run. Well maybe because I don’t run that fast. LOL.

  5. I only read ONE book last year lol and the Bible. I have around 300 books on my IPAD between my Nook app and my Kindle app.

    I love all types of book. ALL types. I plan on doing better this year!

  6. I read while on vacations this year, so I got in about 8 books. My goal, now that things are settling down in 2012 is to read much, much more (than magazines).

  7. Dahhhhhhling…you are LIVING romance. No need for you to read about it. 🙂

    I’ve read quite a bit on my iPad in 2011. Mostly fiction and cookbooks. The Warmth of Other Suns, The Help, Strangers at the Feast, The Kid and Tina Fey’s book are those I haven’t gotten to yet.

  8. Hmm, I didn’t track myself at all. I think I read about 40 books last year. But, I’m including all the books on tape/CD that I listened to during my commute. For my audiobooks, I’m listen to just about anything but I definitely prefer AA authors and characters. For non-audio, I prefer romance, suspense/thriller, and literary fiction.

  9. I have no idea how many books I read. I’ve noticed that I prefer easier reading (ie chick lit) versus sci-fi books but my tastes are the complete opposite when it comes to movies. Go figure!

  10. I probably read about 20 books last year…which is probably the average for me. I tend to predominately read romance or fiction by black authors with Patterson or Grisham thrown in for good taste! After finding Reads4pleasure’s site, I have read some good books by non-black authors and genres that I’m not normally drawn to, perhaps because I’m not sure what’s really “good” out there.

    I’m doing a virtual bookclub with some friends that I’m really looking forward to and expound my taste in literature.

  11. 2011 was a low reading year for me. I think I read 12 or 13 books. Crazy because I’m in a bookclub so I should have read 11 minimum books (no book for Dec.) but I traveled a lot last year and missed some meetings. I read the Game of Thrones series as well as one of Roslyn’s books. Definitely have to pick it up for 2012. My dad has Condoleeza Rice’s book which I’d like to read, there’s another Roslyn book I want and I’d like to get into the Hunger Games series. I’m gagging over the January pick for bookclub (Hot Box by Z.ane) but I have to go ahead and read it since the meeting is next weekend.

  12. I was tracking my reads via an Excel spreadsheet, then my old computer crashed and I lost it! So I have no clue how many books I read. I recently found an older version that I’d saved at some point, so all is not lost. But for that reason, I started tracking my read books on Good Reads.

    My goal is to read 1 book per month. I have a 15 month old daughter, so time is scarce, but I think I can meet that goal, and possibly exceed it on some months.

    BTW, both Warmth and Immortal Life are great reads. The first one is very long, but the people’s lives are so captivating. I learned about Harry T. Moore; it’s a shame that he is not a more prominent part of Af-Amer history.

  13. I got a Kindle Fire for Christmas, so I’m a dowloading fool now. LOL

    I didn’t read much last year and that really bothers me. I am back on the block now! Now that I can get a book at the touch of a finger, and payments to Amazon.com, I’m open to all sorts of genres that I probably would have passed on. So far I have a few fictions, several books about Science and famous scientist, several Kindle singles of various topics, 2 technothrillers, and a few mysteries. I love my Kindle!!! :-)*

  14. I am way behind you. I think I only did maybe 7 last year? But I’m planning to catch up on my James Patterson series this right now and my book club plans to read at least one classic this year. I read the Henrietta Lacks story over the summer. Fascinating!!! I know alot of people in the medical field and NONE of them knew this story — even my cousin who just graduated a couple of years ago from Morehouse School of Medicine.

    I just bought a Kindle though so it should definitely help me. Books can be a pain to transport around.

  15. I didn’t really track my books last year either. I’d guess I read around 20 though. This year I’d like to up the ante to at least 25 books read. Typically I am all about fiction books. This year I’d like to read more autobiographies, biographies and how-to books. I’ve been battling with myself over getting an e-reader or not. I think I’m going to take the plunge and get one within the next week.

  16. I did an awful job of tracking how many books I read last year. And by awful, I mean I didn’t track them at all. So, I have no clue. I’d guesstimate that I read 35 or so? Must do better this year.

    First on deck this year are The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Angel of Harlem. They’re the January and February books for the discussion at my spot and Immortal Life is our campus-wide read in January.

    I’d definitely like to read a few biographies and autobiographies this year – I’m thinking 5 – now I just need to figure out who.

    I primarily read thrillers – I ran through the Rizzoli and Isles series, thanks for the suggestions! – and fiction by black authors with a little chick lit thrown in for good measure. I’m going to try to read one romance novel this year so not my genre, but I want to check out Roslyn’s work.

    I’m picking up my tablet today, so I’m getting ready to get my e-read on! Happy reading!

    • I’ve downloaded both books. And I’m finished Angel in Harlem already…so I’m in on the discussions!

Leave a Reply

