The Skin I’m In

So let’s talk about this regimen for my skin that I don’t have, shall we?

I used to wear foundation and powder daily but rarely do now. I wash my face with warm water, cold water  to close my pores, occasionally use a cleanser or a facial scrub and wear a moisturizer daily. That’s it. As I age (!), my little routine isn’t working any more. My skin looks dull and I have some hyperpigmentation above my left eye. Let’s not talk about the adult acne.  And I notice my T-Zone is acting up too. I never used to have that issue at all.*sigh* I’m lighter skinned so this isn’t a good look at all because EVERY flaw shows up and is harder to conceal.

So I need to step my facial maintenance game up. I did a quick search on the Clarasonic brushes and nearly fainted. The cheapest one is $120 bucks!!! But you have to pay the cost to have the boss ass skin right??

So I come to you dear commenters. What’s your skin care routine? Any tips to combat the dullness and fade these dark spots? What seems to work best for you? Natural remedies?

Maybe I’ll get some ideas so that I can continue to give good face.

Posted from WordPress for Android

17 thoughts on “The Skin I’m In

  1. I have a Clarsonic Mia, and it’s worth every penny. I use the facial cleaner that came with it, Philosphy Purity, and either raw shea butter or vitiamin e oil. In the case of a breakout, I use SeaBreeze or the equivelent.

  2. Your post motivated me to tackle own skin issues (thank you!), so I thought I’d post a comment update.

    I’m about to turn 27 and am definitely starting to experience that sonofagun known as adult acne, mainly around my chin. Ugh. I had clear skin in my teens and early 20s so I never really had a routine. I’d been using Kiehl’s facial cleanser for a few months as my daily face wash but kept getting breakouts, so I recently switched to Bare Escentuals. I use their makeup and its been great for my sensitive skin, so I decided to give their skincare products a try. FYI, their stuff is not cheap by any means but you can return within 30 days if you’re not satisfied.

    I got their Purifying Facial Cleanser, Exfoliating Treatment Cleanser, and their Purely Nourishing Moisturizer. I also have been using their Blemish Therapy, which is basically a spot acne treatment. And I splurged on a new product that the salesgirl sold me on: it’s called the Active Cell Renewal Night Serum. It’s only been about a week but so far, so good! My face has almost completely cleared up — all the dark spots from previous breakouts are fading (the serum was supposed to help with that) and overall my skin is much softer… now I just have to see if it lasts. Fingers crossed!

    I should also add that I used to drink a ton of soda which was probably contributing to the breakouts, so I’ve cut way back and started drinking 2L (which is the recommended amount for women) of water every day.

  3. Love my clarisonic. I also recently discovered Lancome’s Genefique which I am loving. Other than that I wash twice a day with Purpose, Cetaphil or something else non-comedeginic (no idea how to spell that).

    oh and I maintain a relationship with my dermatologist. I’ve been going to one since I was a pre-teen. Right now I’m not on any of his potions and I attribute that to the clarisonic.

  4. Geez….all I do is wash my face. Maybe I need to ramp it up.

  5. Sounds like some exfoliation is in order. I’m finding that for me as well, I have to get better at exfoliation. My nose is tripping right now. Normally, it’s the oiliest part of my face, but it’s been peeling like nobody’s business for the past few weeks. I use Mario Badescu’s enzyme cleansing gel and moisterize with shea butter. I believe I need to get a manual exfoliater. I have a brush somewhere, I’ll have to dig it out and finally use it.

  6. I use aveeno cleansing products in the morning and at night. During the summer I use their moisturizer that has SPF in it,but this winter I have been using cocoa butter on my face as my moisturizer. It always evens out discoloration for me. I’m not strict on washing off makeup at night b/c I get lazy. I tend to only wear foundation on weekends or if I’m going somewhere special.

  7. When it comes to cleansing I’m an Olay girl all the way. My skin is way too sensitive for anything else. They make cleansing cloths with exfoliating beads and I use those twice a day. I moisturize in the morning with Ole Henrickson Herbal Day Cream with SPF 15.

  8. I didn’t have a huge battle with acne growing up. My routine (which I’ve had since I was a teenager) is to wash daily with a facial cleanser (usually Clean & Clear or Neutrogena) and I use a daily moisturizer (Clean & Clear). I use a salycylic acid acne treatment gel when needed (which is rare) and that’s about it. I wear concealer under my eyes to brighten up my face and I realize that I don’t have to wear as much concealer when I’m drinking enough water like I’m supposed to. Water is where it’s at. I always take my makeup off at night and if I’m too lazy to wash at night, I’ll use a facial skin toner to get that daily grime off my face.

    Check your pillowcase to make sure it’s not a culprit.

  9. Um yeah adult Acne is a bee yotch! My skin got worse than it ever was when I was a teen. And hyperpigmentation!-my face looked like a damn chocolate chip cookie. It is worse in the summer and around my period of course. I focus more on ingredients, than brands. I use anything with salicylic acid in it. My preference is Neutrogena oil free acne wash cream cleanser. On my mission to eliminate the adult acne, I discovered I am allergic to benzoyl peroxide. Many acne kits, including department store brands like clinique etc. have benzoyl peroxide, so I stay away from those. After washing with that I use a toner with salicylic acid. (Clean and Clear Astringent for sensitive skin. wait, actually its the walmart brand). My skin isn’t sensitive but its dry, so that works better. In the morning, I use a moisturizer with spf 15. My current daytime moisturizer is aveeno. Once I started using spf, my face no longer looked like a chocolate chip cookie. I also bought the Even Better Serum by Clinique. It worked but I didn’t notice a dramatic difference enough worth the price. With exfoliation and regular spf use I think dark spots eventually fade, mine did , but I aint no doctor. At night, I use a moisturizer with salicylic acid. Currently, its the Neutrogena acne stress control 3 in 1 hydrating acne treatment. But I also use clean and clear dual action moisturizer.

    Disclaimer, I’m lazy and when I get tired, I just fall into bed.

    I want to try a clarisonic or some type of brush.

    One thing I tried that I just had laying around was the Queen helene grape seed extract peel off masque. It works really well on me.

    When I think I need it (especially in the winter) I scrub my face with the st. Ives apricot scrub.

    As far as make up, use clinique foundation. or a tinted moisturizer-MAC

  10. I have a Clarisonic Mia Brush. It’s definitely worth the purchase imo.

    First, I use a cleanser with Salicylic Acid (Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash) with the Clarisonic Brush

    Then I follow that up with a cleanser with Benzoyl Peroxide (Neutrogena Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask). I let that sit on my face while I continue showering or washing my hair.

    After I’m out the shower and my face is dry, I go back and use a Toner (Target Brand/Up & Up) on my face followed by Murad’s Oil Control Mattifier (if I’m headed out for the day/night).

    I usually do this once a day and it works for me.

    I have another product with Benzoyl Peroxide from Neutrogena I use for Spot Treatments. Since I only have to use it about once a month or so, it lasts. In addition to this, I also drink close to 100oz of water a day and eat alot of foods with Vitamin A. I’ve found that when I get lazy and I chose to skip my routine once or twice, my acne and the few dark spots I have come back with a vengeance. It usually takes about a week to get it back under control.

  11. My skin began to flake and I began to have breakouts last year. I bought an inexpensive facial/body set from amazon.com last year to see if that would help. Not a Clarasonic, but it is doing the job right now. I bought it for $16. I exfoliate 3 times a week with the facial brush and wash/moisturize my face with Cetaphil and vitamin E cream. I noted that keeping perfumed moisturizers and soap off my skin is best for it so I only use Cetaphil soap now. I also increased my water intake to about 64 oz. a day to assist clearing my skin up and lowered my fried food as I increased my veggie intake. Cut down on the sugar too. Seems to have really helped so far. Keeping my fingers crossed.

  12. The Olay ProX facial cleansing brush (spins 360) works great. It costs around $30 bucks and Olay often has coupons and rebates for purchasing.

  13. I had a terrible case of teenage acne and I was on everything, but I truly think I grew out of it. Around the 30 mark, I battled with adult acne, nothing like my teenage years, but still acne. I tried Pro-Activ and it’s pretty good. Now, I’m somewhat normal and I have the simplest regimen and cost efficient too – I wash my face with Dove and I use Vitamin E cream (from Walmart) as my moisturizer! I get compliments from time to time and I’m asked what I use, that’s it!

  14. I have a Clarisonic. It can be used for the face and comes with another brush head for the body. It paid for itself in the first week because I regularly get facials and body exfoliation. I use Dermalogica dermal clay cleanser, night time clearing cream and a daytime oil reducing lotion. It’s not check but it works wonders.

  15. I prided myself on having great skin thanks to my mom, but I went through the same thing a couple of years ago. My friend who is an esthetician told me to exfoliate three times a week with a mixture of sugar and honey, and moisturize with vitamin E oil. My skin is back to flawless! I also use Bur’ts Bees cleanser to remove my makeup.

  16. I never had acne as a teenager, but last year adult acne became the bane of my existance. I wound up seeing a dermatologist because my attempts to fix the problem just made it worse. I’m so glad I did cause thanks to her regimen, my skin is back to its normal behavior. She put me on antiobiotics to kill the bacteria on my face (don’t need it anymore). I wash twice a day with a wash w/benzoyl peroxide in it (I use AcneFree cause its cheap & readily available). I moisturize with Cetaphil lotion. And then each night I apply a thin layer of Differin to promote cell turnover. Thanks to this regimen my skin looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

