The Only Constant Thing Is Change

I mentioned last week that I am transitioning to a new manager. To say I feel some kinda of way about it, would be quite accurate. My current manager actually hired me when I was a contractor and pushed for me to become permanent.

The VP in his infinite wisdom (!) has decided that he wants to pass the management of  the budgeting/accounting of our project to the finance guy he hired originally to do risk analysis and valuations. The new guy that I will be reporting to is a smart dude no doubt, so that’s not my issue. My issue is that he has absolutely NO experience in debits and credits accounting and I suspect that this assignment is so that he can get that experience.

That’s all fine and well. However, I’m somewhat resentful of being a guinea pig for a new manager. However, since I do like my job and the paycheck that accompanies it, I’m going to try to my very best to continue to do a good job and support handhold this new manager.

I’m going to lunch with my current manager today to get some tips on how to best deal with this new scenario.  She mentioned in my review that if it wasn’t a good fit between me and new manager dude, that they would work with me to find something else withing the company, but I’ve been in the game long enough to take THAT with a big old grain of salt. And I owe it to myself and to the company, to be a grown up about this whole thing and at least give it the old college try.

So with that being said, any tips/suggestions/comments/horror stories ya’ll care to share about working with a new manager??

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Only Constant Thing Is Change

  1. Ummm…that whole thing at your review about if it doesn’t work out with the new manager they will “try” and find something for you is code speak for “you best figure out how to work with new MANAGEMENT or you (who is NOT management) is out”. I don’t even know how something like that would come up during a performance review unless you expressed your concerns out loud.

    My recommendation is to “fix your face” & play the game. This stuff happens all the time. My current District Manager is 10 years younger than me and has been in this field for 8 years vs my 20. Play the Game. As was stated previously, adjust your tone & keep those concerns to yourself. Do your job, guide when you need to (or if you have to) and let him make his own mistakes. There are people above him already watching him…don’t give him a reason to point the finger at you as the one who was non-committal, reluctant or petulant in about getting the job done.

    …and keep your job.

  2. good advice so far. only thing I can add is not to get that “tone” in your voice on explanation 2,3,4 etc.Big sigh’s, eyerolls, etc. are easy to control but sometimes that tone says more than words.

  3. My guess is that either your new manager is being prepped to be promoted and or your old manager is about to get consolidated out of a job.

    I would want to know his expectations and working style and ride the promotion wave with him. If he is learning from you and you have an interest in what he is doing learn that. If he gets promoted you can be there to step into his job.

    Disclaimer: I have worked for myself the bulk of my career. I have no personal experience as to how this works. My husband was in corporate management for the bulk of his career and agrees with my guess.

    • @Ames: My old manager was also managing another piece (IT) of the project in addition to managing the financial piece which was time consuming. She will only be managing the IT piece now. She’s not going anywhere.

  4. Stay positive Tiffany!!! As has been stated, the team player is the best role to take. Try to converse through email as much as possible and keep a copy of everything that you work on (preferably at home where it can’t be erased from your computer).

  5. Great advice so far. Remain as optimistic as possible and perhaps view this as another opportunity for you to shine. If he doesn’t know what you do, show him. And make sure that when it counts, others know that the great product is a result of YOUR work and not his. Not trying to be underhanded, but wouldn’t want to cash in on your hard work. Email documentation is always your friend.

  6. I say make sure the big dogs feel that you are keeping a positive attitude and trying to make the new situation work. Being seen as a team player is just as important as knowledge and skills in today’s office climate. Oh yeah cover yourself in any situation that you feels it needs covering.

  7. You are a victim of what I have long called “Smart Girl Syndrome” – you get in the door, they realize you are smart and capable and suddenly you find yourself taking on things that you did not expect or being managed by someone who needs to learn from you. It frustrating as you always hope for managers who can mentor and train you, not vice versa. But alas, this is the corporate shuffle.

    As long as he fights battles for you and still develops opportunity for your growth, roll with it.

Leave a Reply

