Motivation

Last week, I had my performance review at work. It went extremely well and I got some good ratings from my manager. It felt kind of strange to be sitting in a review considering the last time I’d been evaluated on my work was er, um..2008?? But when you’ve been laid off and working contract, that’s kind of how it goes.

I have my husband to thank for my good performance review. Yes, I did the work, but it was him who fussed at me about getting to work timely because prior to getting married, I wasn’t always the most timely of persons to the job and I have been dinged about it from supervisors past. I have my husband to thank because I’ve had the chance to observe his strong work ethic and how he embraces new challenges and is willing to be a resource to his co-workers (and just about anyone else who may ask including our nail lady..LOL!) and I have learned from him ways to be a better employee. And it seems that those little habits have rubbed off and helped me.

I think that getting married has helped me to get more motivated and more focused. Not saying that I wasn’t before, but I have to admit that in my 20s and into my early 30s I moved from job to job, in search of a higher paycheck or when I got bored with the work or when  I got tired of dealing with the manager. In hindsight, some of my career decisions have been rather short-sighted, but such is the folly of youth. 🙂

Now that I have another person to consider in my thought process and another person that depends on me, I find myself wanting to do my very best at my job, not just for me, but for us. I often felt somewhat adrift in my career path. I mean sure  I was getting good jobs and making some decent money, but being married has definitely caused me to think more in-depth about where I want to go in the next 5, 10, 15 years career wise.

So thank you dear husband for fussing, lecturing, and providing guidance, even when I had a slight attitude was a bit unreceptive to you. My success is OUR success. I am glad to be on the team! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. I can so relate to be a little tardy for work. I need to do better in that area. Congrats to both of you on your performance review.

  2. Yeah Team Mack!!!!

  3. I am going through this right now. Got laid in August, got married in October, and still looking for work. Thankfully, my husband keeps me up and optimistic. Great post!

  4. That was beautiful. Congrats to you and Myron on the stellar review!

  5. Awww how sweet!!! That’s love Tiffany!

    This reminds of the song that a friend dedicated to his new wife at their reception: “I’m a movement by myself, but I’m a force when we’re together.” (Fabulous ft. Neyo)…Hadn’t really paid attention to the words until that day.

    I wish you guys many more happy years together!!!

  6. I love this!! Marriage brings out the best in us.

Leave a Reply

