Surveying the Masses

Not Myron's brisket..his looks better! 🙂

How much would you pay to have BBQ prepared for you:

  • A whole brisket – avg. 12-14 pounds – cook time 10-13 hours
  • A half brisket – avg 8-10 pounds – cook time 6-8 hours
  • Slab of ribs – 2-3 pounds – cook time 3-4 hours
  • Chicken – whole chicken cut up into pieces – cook time 2-3 hours
  • Sausage links – cook time 2-3 hours

This assumes that you buy the meat and just pay for the service.

We have a side hustle brewing in the Mack household and could use your input!

6 thoughts on “Surveying the Masses

  1. My understanding of food service laws are that you can run into some serious issues if you cook “outside” food. If someone ever got sick, they could blame you even if their meat was the problem. Then, there’s the issue of cross-contamination.

  2. 50.00 is way out of line, IMO. If I am providing the meat, I’d say 10-15 for the ribs(couple of slabs) and brisket. I wouldn’t waste my time with the links. 🙂 A couple of chickens 10-15 also.
    Now if Myron wanted to do a teach folks how to smoke some BBQ properly, or if y’all want to move to Charlotte and open a place, I can send you some customers.

    • Or maybe start a delivery service. BBQ via Fed Ex. 🙂

    • And this is where I think the confusion would come in about your potential service. The friend that quoted $50 made me realize how valuable your time is in actually cooking the meat … the time and attention it would take. I was more in line with Sherri initially on the price until friend told me how much it time it would take for your husband to do it right. You’d have to do a few at a time to get the price per client reasonable in the consumer’s eye. Good luck and let us know how you proceed.

  3. Surveyed a couple of friends for ya myself it seems $50.00 is acceptable for the large brisket and work down from there. Good luck.

  4. I called my aunt and she said that the spot she goes to charges $15 to smoke her brisket….and she buys it and takes it to em.

Leave a Reply

