Not So Sweet Dreams…

Doesn't she look so peaceful?? Me, not so much last night.

Myron and I were in the bed sleeping last night. I mean I’m in the good REM sleep, he’s got the CPAP machine on and isn’t snoring me out of the bed. It’s nice and ice cold and I am snuggled deep under the covers.

“I won’t be foolish, you should knowwwwwww, I wanna make sure I’m right girl, before I let go..” <——-Cue the sound of my Frankie Beverly and Maze ringtone waking me up out of a SOUND sleep at 12:43AM.

I wake up both startled and discombobulated, I hit the ignore button so Myron doesn’t wake up (turns out he didn’t even hear the damn phone!) and then look to see who called. It’s my single, lives alone soror/good friend. So then I get scared and call her back, thinking the worst has happened because ONLY bad things happen when you get phone calls that late! No answer. So then I text, put the phone on vibrate under my pillow and wait. No answer. Now, I’m totally throwed off. Eventually I fall back asleep but it’s not that restful.

I got a text back this morning from my soror. She’s fine and had misdialed. *deep long sigh*

But I can’t get no sleep till Brooklyn.

And evidently I’m not the only one. When I look at FB and at Twitter, I see a lot of folks up late, into the wee hours even and the majority of the folks I know are real grown and have jobs to go in the morning so they’d be better off sleeping. I’m sure I’m not helping myself either. I have a TV in our room, plus my laptop, my cell and my Nook Color are normally on or around the bed so I have plenty of gadgetry to play with distract me when I should be sleeping.

And of course, when I do get to work, I crash about 3:30pm or so. Do you know how hard it is to sleep sitting upright in a cubicle? A few times I have caught myself in a light snooze and had to go get some coffee to shake it off. And Myron wonders why I am the queen of the weekend nap! If I can get 6 hours on a weeknight, I think that’s a good night. It seems like by the time I get off work, do some things at home and eat dinner, it’s 11PM! And we don’t even have kids, I know it only gets worse then.

Are you finding it hard to get a decent night’s rest?? What are you doing to curb insomnia??

12 thoughts on “Not So Sweet Dreams…

  1. I had a horrible bout of insomnia a few months ago – it was all about my conscience. Once i did what I knew I was supposed to, I started sleeping like a log.

    Generally when I have difficulty sleeping it’s because I took one too many naps that day/the day before. I watch TV until I fall back asleep – usually 15 minutes before it’s time to get up. Ugh!

  2. Trust, it gets worse with a kid. I find myself trying to catch a nap around 5pm, since I’m up at 5am after feeding the baby…I close my eyes but my mind keeps clocking all the things that need to get done.

  3. I must have 8 hours. I am irritable and HUNGRY if I get less than 7. I’m known for being anal and down right stank about people and circumstances infringing on my sleep. I started charging my phone (and using an actual clock for an alarm). Even if it’s right next to me, it’s on SILENT, not vibrate (I haven’t had that middle of the night emergency yet…..) in another room because its so tempting to reach over and check fb and twitter or whatever. I am also not a fan of a tv in my bedroom. I don’t have one now but I’m not sure how long that will last. I also sleep with a sleep mask. It has to be pitch black. And quiet. But not too quiet. Lately I’ve been sleeping with a fan on. Not for air but for the sound. I sleep that much more deeply with it on. I think I need one of those white noise sleep machines. I had trouble sleeping while I was working on my dissertation and I took otc sleep aids. They made me too drowsy and it was hard to get up even after 9 hours. I find that I sleep better the earlier I go to bed. Even if I go to sleep later and sleep the same length of time, the quality of sleep is better if I go at 11 than if I go at 1.

  4. I’m one of those people who can’t let go of the to do list until I realize it’s 1am and I have to get up for work in 4 hours. But on the rare occasion when I’m not falling asleep at the laptop, I listen to music. I figure if my brain is moving and thinking then I’ll never get to sleep. So I lay in the bed and just listen to music until I drift back to sleep.

  5. I wake up almost every night for at least 30 min. Its really annoying. But I will fall asleep anywhere…I am normally asleep on a plane before take off. I try to get up at 5 so I can give the dogs a good walk and work out…but if I wake up and it takes me a while to go to sleep, I don’t get up til 6:30 or 7….and I try to get to work by 7.

  6. “It seems like by the time I get off work, do some things at home and eat dinner, it’s 11PM!”

    I just had a conversation about this last week. The above statement sums up how I feel perfectly! It seems like there’s just no time to relax and unwind.

    Overall, I sleep pretty well. If I do wake up during the night, allowing my body to get cold is the best way for me to doze back off. I usually lay on top of the comforter until I get drowsy or fall back asleep.

  7. Nothing comes between me and my sleep. I sleep like the dead. I’m good with 6 hours. Bed at 1 am, up at 7. I think the key is keeping your stress level low.

  8. Mistake #1. turning on a radio, tv, computer etc……

    I had a really bad bout of insomnia during sophomore year in college. So bad that I used to be in tears. When I finally went to the Dr. about it, he said do NOT introduce any stimulus when I wake up in during the night, just lay still and try to keep your eyes closed. It took me a few nights to make this work, but eventually it did.

    I’m still not a very good sleeper. I get maybe 5-6 hours of sleep per night. I get up at 5 AM, but I always wake up before the alarm goes off. When I had a small child I still only got 5 hours of sleep, yet I managed to get everything done that he needed…. Go figure???

  9. It’s so crazy that you posted about this because last night, I had THE worst night. I tossed and turned for hours. When I wasn’t doing that, I was checking Twitter to see what was going on there. My mind was all over the place. I guess I eventually went to sleep a little before 2am. *sigh* And like you, I have the TV, phone, and laptop to distract me. NOT TONIGHT. I’m gonna be doped up on Tylenol PM (just need a lil push, LOL).

  10. I find it is harder for me to get a good night’s sleep now that I’m married. When I was single I would fall asleep at 10pm and get up at 5:30. When I have trouble falling asleep, I take 1/3 of a Tylenol PM…that usually does the trick.

    There was a recent study done on the sleep patterns of women and men. Apparently women actually get more sleep than men, but men say they are more satisfied with their sleep. (Go figure)
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424053111904279004576524321377942288.html

  11. I don’t get decent sleep because my almost 2yr old talks LOUDLY in her sleep. She always wants to get in my bed at ungodly hrs! The few times I have let her spend the night somewhere else have been heaven for ly sleeping!

  12. Lately I’ve had problems going back to sleep after my normal bathroom run. It’s usually around 4am and I’ll fall asleep right before the alarm goes off. Last night I forced myself to stay awake a little longer and slept through the night. But when I can’t get back to sleep I pray. Then I check twitter or catch up on WWF. I may even go workout.

    I put my phone on vibrate when I go to sleep. I’ve had my fair share of wrong # calls at 2am.

Leave a Reply

