Going Car Shopping???

The current whip...

We were at a baby christening a few weeks ago and since we were AT church, we also got a good Word in from Rev. Kirbyjon Caldwell of Windsor Village United Methodist Church. I wish I could take the  credit for these wise words but I can’t. I normally don’t get too preachy on this here blog but this was such a practical application of Scripture to real life, I had to share and it’s good for married folks and singles alike. Some of the same questions you typically ask when you buy a car are the same ones you should be asking when you are dating. If you are married, you might want to ask these as a “tune-up”.

 Auto Shopping, Dating And Marriage

  • What is the price tag of the car? (Luke 14:28)
    • Is “it” in my budget?
    • Can I afford it?
    • Do I have what it takes to pay for it?
  • Can I maintain what I  think I want to obtain? (Luke 14:29, 30)
    • Emotionally? Relationally? Psychologically? Financially? Socially?
    • Am I ready to sustain what I am maintaining?
  • Where are the keys? (John 15:1-8)
    • How do you start the engine?
    • Who has the key to the ignition? (Are the keys still being held by the previous owner??)
  • How many MPG does it get? (Luke 8:40-48)
    • How does it perform during turbulent and trying times?
    • How does it perform during tranquil and tamed times?
  • What’s under the hood? (1 Samuel 16:7)
    • What are the spiritual, intellectual, emotional and adversity quotients?
  • How large is the trunk space?? (Philippians 3:13)
    • How many bags will the trunk hold?
    • What’s in YOUR bags? Are you willing to go forward without your bags??

You certainly don’t have to answer the questions, but it’s certainly some food for thought. So eat up and drop some snacks in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Going Car Shopping???

  1. OMG! I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks for posting

  2. Real good, real, real, good. I shared it with some folk.

  3. OMG! I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. On a completely unrelated note, Kirbyjon was my youth minister here in Dallas way (way) back in the day. He’s amazing.

    • Ha ha… I had an unrelated note too. I was gonna mention that this the church my Godmother attends. She loves her some Kirbyjon!

      To the topic, I haven’t gone car shopping in over 10 years…. 😆

Leave a Reply

