Skewered

Last night the heavens parted, the angels trumpted and my husband wept tears of joy.

I decided to cook.

There are a lot of low to no carb recipes on Purely Primal and one from the other day caught my eye and looked pretty simple so I decided to try it.

So here it is, complete with BlackBerry pics!

You’ll need:

  • 2 chicken breast halves, boneless & skinless, cut into 8 tenders
  • 8 stalks asparagus, bottoms trimmed and cut in half
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into 1-inch squares
  • 1 red onion, cut into 1-inch pieces (2 or 3 layers each)
  • 8 lemon slices, cut in half
  • extra virgin olive oil (about 2 tbsp)
  • lemon pepper seasoning (about 2 tsp)
  • 8 skewers  (I have 4 metal skewers but you could use wood ones, just soak them in water first)

Get all of the veggies cut up, then heat the grill up to medium-high heat (375 to 400).  Pierce the ingredients onto the skewers in any order you like… but keep the chicken tender threaded lengthwise in the center.  I opted to put the lemon slices right next to the asparagus (on those I had enough slices for), because lemon and asparagus are just good together.  Once everything is threaded, brush both sides of each skewer lightly with olive oil, then sprinkle lightly with the lemon pepper.  Set aside until the grill is heated up.

It will look like this:

Grill for about 12 to 16 minutes, turning once, until the chicken is just cooked through.  That’s it…nothing to it.  Just remember to turn them.  When they are done, pile up on a plate and let them rest for a minute or two before serving.

When it is done it will look like this on the plate (I served everything with some doctored up store bought pesto, more on that in a bit):

I had lots of leftover chicken and veggies:

Myron suggested that I season the extra chicken to grill and I roasted the extra veggies in a 350 degrees oven for 20-25 minutes. Score! Lunch for the next day!

A word about the pesto: I wanted to go to HEB to get their fresh made pesto from the deli, but we didn’t want to drive that far when Kroger is right around the corner from our house. I love our local Kroger because they have hella meat sales but their deli is severely LACKING. I finally found a jarred pesto sauce on the Italian foods aisle. I decided to give it a shot. I got home and it was just OK and I was salty because that 6 ounce jar was $4.99!! My chef husband swooped into to rescue me!!! He suggested I grind up some of the sunflower seeds I had on hand with some parmesan, add a little bit more olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and pepper to the jarred pesto and see how that worked. Crisis averted! So I would suggest you do the same if your pesto ain’t quite right. Use any nut you might have on hand (sunflower seeds, cashews, pistachios), some more EVOO, lemon juice and work it till it tastes good to you.

So all in all, this turned out pretty good and I think I’m inspired! I may cook again next week! LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Disclaimer: I was told in no explicit terms to notate that my husband set up the grill (BBQ pit) and periodically turned the chicken. *deep long sigh* He refuses to allow me to be great!!!)

7 thoughts on “Skewered

  1. yes, this does look good…i must show it to the bf so he can fire up the grille and get busy;) i can do w/out cooking, but he thinks he’s greaaaat, so I let him have at it! ha! (he’s a good bf)

  2. This looks awesome! I’ve been making a lot of things with asparagus lately too since it’s in season & so cheap. I LOVE the pesto too. I buy ours at Costco (it’s mad cheap there) – bring it home & freeze it in an ice cube tray then store it in a little bag in the freezer. Need a little pesto? Pop out a square & it’s awesome. Pesto can go bad really quick so I’m a huge fan of this method.

    Oh & SMH at Myron. Admitted, he’s a great cook but he should let you shine on — plus, it’s not like he busted out a cheesecake or anything at the end, right? 😉

  3. I saw that recipe on Purely Primal & added it to my “to try” list. Will definitely do it now! Thanks

  4. LMAO why MM can’t just let you shine!!! you at least did the prep work!!!! LOL

    and yes you got me here like I might have to make me some kabobs this weekend! LOL

Leave a Reply

