From Chef Myron’s Cookbook (With An Extra Treat)

This is a recipe straight from the head. I sometimes think something will be a good combination so I try it. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. I am in the mind frame now, since me and the wife are low carbing it, to keep the carbs and sugar out, but to make things that tastes good as well. Here is a recipe that worked.

 Shrimp and Bay Scallops with Dill Cream Sauce

 ½ lbs Shrimp (peeled and deveined)

½ lbs Bay Scallops

½ Onion (chopped)

½ Bell Pepper (chopped)

1 tsp Minced Garlic

2 tbsp Dill Weed

4 oz. Cream Cheese

1 Cup Heavy Whipping Cream

2 tbsp Butter

2 tbsp Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper (to taste)

 In a large skillet, pour in Olive Oil, Shrimp, Scallops, and Garlic. Sautee over medium heat until shrimp are pink and firm. Drain and set to the side.

 In a separate pot add the Onion, Bell Pepper, and Butter. Let them cook until the onion is transparent. Without turning down the heat, add the Heavy Whipping Cream and Cream Cheese. Wisk together until you have a creamy sauce, then add shrimp, scallops, and dill. Turn heat to low and simmer for about five minutes while stirring occasionally. Turn off heat and let sit for five minutes. Enjoy over a bowl of fresh Spinach (for the carb conscious) or Pasta (for non-carb counters) with Shredded Parmesan Cheese sprinkled on top.

 ENJOY!!

  

Bonus Recipe:

 The Wifey and I LOVE some baked potatoes!!! Unfortunately with the diet we may never eat them again (unless we have a cheat day) So in trying to figure out an alternative I came up with this. And it was surprisingly very good!!

 Baked Potato Styled Cauliflower

 1 Bunch Cauliflower

½ Cup of Sour Cream

½ Cup of Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese

½ Package of Real bacon Bits

2 tsp of Chives

2 tbsp of Butter

Salt and Pepper (to taste)

In a pot, cover Cauliflower in water and boil until tender. Drain water from Cauliflower and mash just as you would mashed potatoes. Add butter and stir, mashing any unmashed pieces. Add Sour Cream, Chives, Shredded Cheddar, and Bacon Bits. Stir together until well blended. Serve with Shredded Cheddar sprinkled on top.

 May sound strange but it is quite tasty. Enjoy!!!

8 thoughts on “From Chef Myron’s Cookbook (With An Extra Treat)

  1. Delurking…

    I’m TOTALLY trying this!! YuMM!

  2. Thanks for sharing!!! I can’t cook, but my hubby can, so I’ll let him know! LOL!

  3. I LOVE shrimp and scallops!!! YUM

  4. I tried the mashed califlower this past weekend and it was…stringy.

    I don’t know if I didn’t let it cook long enough, or it was old, or what. I heard the recipe from Hungry Girl on the Cooking Channel, and she’s usually spot on.

    I threw it away in disgust, but with this entry, I’m game to try it again…

  5. I cannot wait to try both of these recipies ! Carbs are not my friend. This lady I worked with made a casserole one time with mostly cauliflower that tasted almost like mac n cheese. I have been sleeping on the cauliflower !

  6. The shrimp & scallops recipe sounds amazing. I see a cookbook in the future.

  7. I love cauliflower mash. This recipe looks delish! I’m going to make it asap.

  8. I make mashed cauliflower all the time for baby and me. A little milk, a little butter, a sprinkle of cheese and puree. Yum!

Leave a Reply

