Shrinkage

 Today, my husband and I are in Day 8 of doing the Atkins diet. We are in the stage called Induction where for the next 2-3 weeks, we limit the number of carbs we have to less than 20 a day. I was tired and sluggish on Day 2 as the last of the sugar left my body. I caught stomach cramps on day 4 because I wasn’t hydrated enough and I hit the wall on Day 6, and commenced to lay out in the floor and have a tantrum because I was tired of eating eggs.

Day 7, I got my ass on the scale.

Talk about a reality check. Talk about embarrassment.

I am at the largest weight that I have even been in my adult life. For real. *Antoine Dobson voice*

I’ve always been a curvy girl with lots of booty and thighs. I really started gaining weight after I turned 30 and got on the Depo Shot. Then I guess I just started eating way too much. But I wasn’t really tripping because even though I was getting a tad bigger, I  was still getting some play. And I always dressed cute and kept the shoe game tight. Hell, I even messed around and got married. LOL!!!

But that scale right there, playa, that scale right there……..plus my aching back means playtime and my delusional thoughts are over.

This is not going to turn into a weight loss blog, so please don’t get alarmed. I will probably give ya’ll an update once in a while. And I will continue to dazzle and amaze with food pics and recipes (that are more Atkins friendly) so you may be all drooly about the mouth area.

But me and that number on that scale are about to get REAL un-friendly.

Please believe it.

26 thoughts on “Shrinkage

  1. I feel you on the diet roller coaster. I’m just trying to “cut back” but after seeing jen.ni.fer.hud.son on ok.rah the other week, I’m seriously thinking I need a little more structure. I’m really interested in seeing how the Atkins works for you. Good Luck!

  2. Go ‘head y’all! I did South Beach + exercise in 2002 and lost 30 lbs in 8 months! I was also ready to die during the first phase (no fruit, sugar, cocktails, or bread…my 4 fave food groups!). I gained 10 pounds immediately after going back to a normal diet but I have managed to keep 20 lbs of it off for the past 8 years. I was so sick of meat after SB, I’ve been mostly vegetarian since then! Good luck and keep us posted.

  3. It’s great when you and your hubby start on a weight loss journey together. I think your more apt to stick with the plan when you both are committed. Dr. B and I have our own fitness routines, during the weekdays, but we go biking on Saturdays and we eat a nutritious dinner together every night. Good luck!!! 🙂

  4. I’ve been battling my weight since I got out of college girl! Congrats from being committed enough to make a change for the good and I’m glad the hubs is sticking by you on this. Having the support helps SO much. When my now hubs and I got engaged and realized we were both heavier than ever we joined Weight Watchers together. It really worked for us. I lost 50 lbs and he lost 30. That said, since the honeymoon and the holidays it’s slowly starting to come back and I know it’s because carbs are not my friend and I’ve missed A LOT of weight watchers meetings. Reading your update makes me want to get my butt over to the next WW meeting — stat! Thank you!

    P.S. I gained a lot of my extra 100 lbs after I started using a birth control pill after college and I’m certain it played a roll in the initial jump. I knew I had to find another way to keep motherhood away.

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Good luck! Y’all can do it!

  6. I wasn’t sure what was making me gain pounds and inches. I’m at that stage in life where the metabolism really slows down. So I started keeping track of what I eat and how much. I have to confess that I still eat candy (sweedish fish, sour patch kids, lemon head and friends) bwahahahaha, that cracks me up to even admit that! So I have to let go of the sugar and excessive wine drinking. YIKES!!! But I also can’t tout the benefits of exercise enough. As long as I regularly stay on my gym routine, I’m good. As soon as I stop here come those 2 and 3 pound gains. Carb starving does help in the beginning.

  7. Good going, Tiffany. I need to start working out again. My husband started woprking out again a few months ago and I really see the difference. He’s all cut and I’m all…not. LOL I need to get fine for him too. SIGH.

  8. Good luck to you and the hubs! So nice that you are doing it together – no one to sabatoge you. I had great success with Atkins back in the day but I just couldn’t face a life without white potatoes or brown rice LOL.

    I know you live with a chef, but if you want some low carb ideas, my favorite site for good low carb recipes back then was Linda’s: http://genaw.com/lowcarb/index.html. I actually still make some of her recipes. She notes which ones are good for induction.

    You can also use most of the Paleo type recipes for Atkins. I like Everyday Paleo http://www.everydaypaleo.com too (even though I don’t eat that way all of the time).

    I also still use some of the recipes from Dana Carpender’s Low Carb Cookbook and Slow Cooker cookbook. Good stuff in there.

  9. You can do it!!! Good for you guys. Can’t wait to hear about the journey.

  10. Y’all got this!

  11. The Depo is the devil! I weighed 98 lbs when I started and I gained most of me weight in the year or two after I went off of it though nothing in my habits had changed. At my largest I have been twice what I was when I started.

    Good luck with the diet- you can do it.

  12. I did the Atkins diet about 10 years ago. I guess it worked hell, I really don’t know. Remember when Metabolife came out?! OMG, I inhaled that ish like crack until the day I noticed my hand tremblin’ like I needed a hit. I quit taking them the same day.

    • OMG. I was on Metabolife back in the 90s. I took it for like 2-3 months with no issues and then one day my heart was beating out of my chest and I was sweating like a faucet. I tossed them out that day! It worked though, I had zero appetite and I lost like 8 lbs in 2 months! Sadly, I think I lost a boyfriend in the process, it made me cranky, moody and snappish.

  13. I really enjoy your writing TIH!

    I did the Atkins diet YEARS ago when it was all the rage. Let me just tell you that it does work! BUT… Like you’ve already noticed, you have to keep yourself hydrated, and not just for the reason you mentioned in this post. Because of the lack of Carbs (which is where most of your daily fiber intake comes in) you can easily become constipated as a result of this diet. Just wanted to throw that out there for you. I ended up having to go to the doctor for constipation when I was done with this diet…but I looked good! Kept it up! 😉

    • Ooops… That last statement should read, “…keep it up!” And to think I actually proofread this comment before I hit the ‘Post Comment’ button! o_O

      • Oh yeah, I forgot to add that when I did this diet all those years ago it was because of the weight I gained while on the Depo shot… #Grrr D:

  14. That Depo shot was the direct cause of my weight gain back in the day too!

    You and M2 doing this together? FTW!!! Get it girl (and M2! LOL)!

  15. Wishing you two much success !It is great that you two can support one another while you set and achieve goals together. This is a great way to start a marriage.

  16. Good for you! I think it’s great that you and the hubs are doing this together.

    I know some folks think it’s excessive, but I weigh myself almost every morning. I don’t like surprises, and a few pounds here and there seem to add up faster that they used to when I was young & spry, lol.

  17. Yaaaaay! As you know, we have adopted Atkins as a lifestyle instead of just a diet and the changes are amazing.
    More energy, less weight, more options. Seeing the number on the scale is often the best pimp-slap into reality. NicinTx has been my strong support arm while the great Tazzee and MsMixtress answer my (sometimes bizarre) fitness questions. With the support of your spouse and friends, you can and will do it!

  18. You can do it ! It’s a lifestyle decision-period.I’ve done atkins and it does work-but can get tiresome eating only protein/fats. I actually have been living the ” tryfoodlovers” way for a while and LOVE it! It works! And you can eat carbs ! I could never count points like w.w.-too much work. Good Luck!

  19. I wish you and Myron the best. It’s going to be so much easier doing it together.

  20. Good Luck! I know you guys can do it.

    I’ve been there. One day I woke up and realized I’d gained 30 pounds. That was above the 20 I’d gained between HS and my late 20s. I did WW and lost the 30 from my 30’s and am still working on making sure I keep it off.

  21. I’ve been there.

    One of my good friends got me to try Atkins, because of her success. I made it through Induction but then started having chest pains, so I gave it up.

    Last year another good friend introduced to me the Primal lifestyle. Similar to Atkins in that its low carb, but not as restrictive. I finally found something that worked for me & I’ve lost a lot of weight, which I’m very thankful for.

    Good luck on your journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

