Greedy

Human beings are funny creatures. Our habits are sometimes funny, sometimes odd, and sometimes pathetic.

 All those emotions ran through my head while I was over reading Man, Wife And Dog and read Charli’s blog post about some creepy dude trying to holla at her at the train station while she was on her way to work. What is it about a wedding ring that attracts people who probably wouldn’t give you a second glance if you didn’t have it on? I don’t get it.

 I was in the beauty  shop last Friday and happened upon a young lady who recognized me from Myron’s FB page. She, her (now) husband and Myron got to know each other because they used to hang out at the same happy hour. They got married the week after us. She was telling me how she and her husband went to a friend’s house party and how some woman was clearly trying to push up on her husband, to the point that when she walked by him, she deliberately ran her hands across his chest. Seriously?? WDDDA????

 Almost every time my husband goes to the grocery store alone, he comes back with some funny story about some chick trying to hit on him. He never leaves home without his ring on, so I know they see it. Let’s not even get started about the dude that I used to date back in the day who inboxed me on FB to tell me after I got engaged, how he really messed up (his chance to be with me) and how he would probably end up as the old dude in the club because he just keeps passing up opportunities with some good women. Uh, yeah.  In the words of that lyrical genius Silkk The Shocker: it ain’t my fault.

 When I was a single chick, the only thing a married man could have done for me is introduce me to a single one. Who wants that kind of drama in their lives by going after a married man or even a man that’s in a committed relationship??? I wasn’t trying to end up on an episode of Snapped behind some man’s wife or girlfriend!

 Unfortunately for some, they always tend to want what someone else has.

 I guess that’s why gluttony is one of the seven deadly sins.

7 thoughts on “Greedy

  1. Greed is a fat demon with a small mouth and whatever you feed it is never enough.

    – Janwillem van de Wetering

  2. I constantly get ex’s who are now married or with other women telling me they messed up. That’s right! And I don’t move backwards so poof, be gone! And you are a girl after my own heart quoting my homie Silkk. I swear not a week goes by that I don’t use that in some sentence. LMAO

  3. I think some women are always in competition with other women even if they don’t know the woman. It’s like…if they get someone’s husband…they must be better than the wife in some way.

  4. OK, being Twilliterate, I had to Google WDDDA and I WILL be including it in the repetoire. That said, I got an email the week before my wedding from my ex where he professed that he had “messed up a good thing” and then this mikie flikie actually asked me where were we registered because he wanted: “to send y’all something”. Umm, no thanks. Late AND wrong. It’s like children who want a toy just cause somebody else has it…it has nothing to do with wanting the actual person.

  5. Thanks for the link-love! You know I’ve been there with the women all over my husband in public thing too. (Especially the ones at his job! Some of them have actually solicited him for you know what at lunch!) He has no problem telling them he’s happily married but sometimes I just want to drive over there and give those home-wrecker wannabes a piece of my mind. I’m a lady, so I’ll take the high road. BUT, it’s definitely beyond unacceptable for a woman to openly flirt with another woman’s husband. Some guys will argue that women want married men because it means they can commit and do the right thing. UM…doesn’t that also mean that they can cheat and lie and leave you for someone else too if they take that bait? Think ladies, think! 🙂

  6. I think a lot of the women that want other men do it because they need to prove over and over again to themselves that they are desirable. Why that can’t be done with free and single men, I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

