Worry Wart

I don’t have anything epic or profound to post today. I just have a (some) question(s):

  • Do you worry a lot??
  • If you are, how do you combat that feeling?
  • Do men worry less than women?
  • If you are person of faith, does worrying to you indicate a lack of faith??

I worry a lot. I think about things that I want us to accomplish as a couple way into the future. I worry about money. I worry about my family and friends. Sometimes I worry about things I really don’t have a lot of control over. My husband, not so much. He says I’m somewhat panicky. He’s probably right. But I still, I worry. It doesn’t consume my every waking moment but still I do it.

I don’t think you are human if you don’t.

I’m normal, aren’t I???

15 thoughts on “Worry Wart

  1. * Do you worry a lot??
    No. Not anymore. I learned to letitgo.

    * If you are, how do you combat that feeling?
    I used to just do something that got my mind off it.

    * Do men worry less than women?
    I think it can be perceived that way because they don’t worry about a lot of the small stuff.

    * If you are person of faith, does worrying to you indicate a lack of faith??
    No.

  2. I dont know that I worry, but I do think about alot of things. I saw this quote once about worrying – its like being in a rocking chair; you move alot but it gets you no where.
    Since worrying does me no good, I pray alot. Worrying could indicate a lack of faith, since we are specifically told not to worry (Matt 6:25-34)and I’m learning is so much easier to give it over in prayer initially instead of worrying and then praying.
    Its good that couples have different dispositions; though my husband is not as high strung as I – he thinks in his own way. He just approaches it differently.
    Its good to ask yourself these questions and then use the answers as opportunities for growth.
    I think you’re normal (whatever that is!).

  3. I worry about things I have no control over. Then I realize I can’t control them, and that worrying just stresses me out…so I stop worrying and move on to things that I do have the power to control…and that’s why the baby’s things are all picked out and I’ve already planned my shower, lol.

  4. I’m at the age and stage in life where I have a 20 year old son, and parents who are 76 and 81. My brain NEVER rests!

  5. Trust me your normal. I worry a lot. I’m trying to work on this through blogging and journaling. Also, planning ahead works for me to lessen the worries. I think some men tend to give off the impression that things don’t bother them. I don’t believe worrying indicates a lack of faith. I know the human side of me wants to sometimes control things. I know I have an issue with worrying so by praying and journaling I am steadily increasing my faith. I realize I’m still a work in progress.

  6. I worry. I don’t think worry is a sign of a lack of faith, I think pessimism is more a sign of a lack of faith. I think anyone who has any type of LIFE worries at some point. It’s totally human.

  7. I worry also. Seems like my biggest worries are about my family. Are the kids okay at school, is Tony ok at work, is my mom gonna make it safe from work. Jaelyn is going to China in June, and I already get sick at the thought of her being gone for two weeks without me lol. Yeah you are very normal lol.

  8. I think I’m reiterating a lot of what everyone has said, BUT here goes…
    Healthy worry (concern) is a very normal condition. If you obsess or are immobilized by irrational worry (fear), that’s another thing altogether. I think it’s healthy to be concerned about the things that matter to you, for example: your health, family issues, finances etc. Where there is concern, there is the potential for positive action…Health concerns? maintain a balanced life and see your Dr. regularly. Family issues? encourage dialogue, be open, listen, etc. Finances? make a plan/budget.

    and FYI my hubs lives by the seat of his pants and rarely worries…I’m the checklist diva. I’m sure that’s why we work!

  9. I’m a worrier. In fact, right this moment, I am worried about something. I will be worried about something else in just a few more minutes.

    I’m not particularly religious (although my parents are, and I do reach out for religion in particularly troubling moments), but I find that the worrying tends to help me work through a problem toward a solution.

    I find non-worriers to be frustrating. When I want/need something done and Tony tells me, “I wouldn’t worry about it,” I tend to feel quite put out. My internal dialogue often responds, “I know you wouldn’t worry about it, but it’s quite important to ME.” I try to say this differently out loud.

  10. I worry a lot, too. About all that you listed and more. I like to have a plan A, B, C, D. And then a backup plan. I truly believe if you fail to plan, you have planned to fail and I don’t like to make decisions when I’m backed into a corner.

    Recently, I wrote this saying down that my daddy says to me all of the time and posted it on a mirror in my house: Control those things you can control.

    That is helping me to let go. A little. And prayer. I stayed prayed up.

    I know you stay prayed up, too, but try to think about my daddy’s saying when you feel yourself getting worked up. Hopefully that will help.

  11. I worry a lot, even when I think I’m not, which usually results in insomnia. Then I feel guilty because if I’ve prayed about it and given it over to God, I really have no business worrying about it and it’s like I’m questioning him.

    As far as the husband thinking you’re somewhat panicky, it seems to me that women stress about everything much more than men. I need the spirit of “laidbackness” to fall upon me 🙂

  12. I think Ames hit the nail on the head. There is a difference between being worried and being concerned. I tend to be concerned more than worried. I see worrying as a catalyst to a life style change. Basically taking your concern to another level that disrupts what is now concerned normal. For instance in Erica’s comment she mentioned leaving the iron on. If she starts “not ironing” at all or even becoming OCD to where she is checking the iron every hour on the hour, then she is worrying to the point of her life is changing. Now if she runs out and calls back home to have someone check to make sure she turned it off, that’s being concerned. Just my opinion.

  13. I wonder if worry is a premonition or a self-fulfilling prophesy.

    I try not to worry just in case its self fulfilling. I can only control what I can control and I try to follow my first mind instead of telling myself I’m just worrying. If I get worried about my kids I go to them. When people cross my mind I call. I don’t brush my concerns aside as it relates to people and stuff I can control. I don’t worry about stuff I can’t control, that is the stuff I pray for peace about.

  14. Yes, you are VERY normal. I think it becomes cliché rhetoric for people to tell you to “pray”. It’s natural to worry. I worry CONSTANTLY about my family. I worry about my kids. If my daughter’s school bus is 10 mins. late, I’m flipping clean the hell out. I worry that my husband will fall a sleep while driving home from work. When I leave home, I worry if I shut my iron off. I worry about my older kids making the right life choices. Of course I pray for myself and my family. But if you’re NOT worrying, maybe you’re dead inside, LOL! I think not worrying is ABnormal.

  15. I hear people say that worry is a Spirit and “if you pray, don’t worry and if you worry don’t pray” all the time. Truth be told, I worry about different things QUITE often, some that I cannot even control. I pray and have faith but still worry.
    Yes, you are normal in my book. If it’s of any comfort to you I will say that people who worry are often proactive. People who never worry tend to be reactive. JMO.

Leave a Reply

