Married, But Not Quite

I ran across this book on the Knot Chocolate blog and being a newlywed, the plot immediately caught my eye.

Here’s a summary:

Everyone says the first year of marriage is the hardest . . . but what would you do if you found out that you were never really married in the first place?

In this irresistible romantic comedy from award-winning author Beth Kendrick, three wildly different women form an unlikely friendship as they try to decide whether they’d do it all again.

They’ve had the white dresses and the fancy receptions. But now that the honeymoon’s over, Stella, Casey, and Erin have each had to face some hard truths about the men they’ve married and the lives they’ve chosen. So when the news breaks that the pastor who presided over their weddings failed to file a few critical pieces of paper, none of these newlyweds are rushing down to the courthouse to legalize their vows. Instead, the brides share their hopes, disappointments, and secrets while grappling with that pivotal question: Should they stay or should they go?

And since I’d planned on participating in book blogger Reads4Pleasure’s  Colorful Chick Lit challenge, this comes right on time. I don’t think the author is a person of color but she will definitely add toward to my book count. And since I have been stuck in a genre rut for some time, I decided to switch the game up and tackle some lighter fare. I’m going to read the book and come back with a review for ya’ll.

But enough about that!

The REAL question is this: What would you do if you found out you weren’t really legally married AND you’d been dealing with drama in the marriage anyway?? Would you walk??

Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

17 thoughts on “Married, But Not Quite

  1. after 25 years I’d stay.

  2. Stay, stay, stay! It’s not always gonna be awesome…as long as it’s mostly awesome.

  3. Hmm. My first year of marriage was great, the drama came year 3.

    I would get the couples counseling we need before heading back to the altar.

  4. I’d stay. When I said my vows I was promising before God, family, friends, and my husband. The legal part was just a formality of our society. Finding that the legal connection wasn’t valid wouldn’t make me void the promise.

  5. Hey! Thanks for shouting out The Chocolate Knot! This book is a must read for every wife. As for me, I’m sure I’d stay. But hubby and I ran into some rough spots during year one would have made me think twice at the time.

  6. Current husband – I’d legally marry him ASAP…and I’d be SO sad that we weren’t living as a legal husband and wife.

    Baby daddy – I’d walk. I’d RUN.

    The first year is the honeymoon phase… hell, so is the 2nd and 3rd year. Whenever I hear women say, “the first year is the hardest” I always have to pause and wonder if they married the right person. I didn’t even live with my husband before we married and I didn’t find the first year to be hard at all. It was fun getting to know him even more (since we rarely even spent the night together pre-marriage).

  7. I actually read this book on my Kindle a little while ago! Let me know what you think of it. If it were my current hubby, I’d get remarried. The first year of marriage is supposed to be dramatic

    • it is? The first year is the honeymoon phase. I’ve read that the first few months of marriage are the same as the later years. Drama at the start is drama throughout.

      • I got married in November. We don’t have major issues, but it’s difficult learning to live with someone else. that’s mostly what I meant by dramatic–you’re still learning your new spouse. What they like to eat for dinner, their cleaning style, how they squeeze the toothpaste from the middle…lol

  8. Today? I’d stay and head on over to the courthouse. Ask me again tomorrow…

  9. If the first year was bad and full of drama, I would take my freedom and vanish.

    My dilemma would be the gifts. Do people want them baxk?

  10. I actually know someone this happened to and she didn’t go through with legalizing it afterwards. Hers was a small ceremony with just a handful of immediate family so she wasn’t soley interested in “the wedding” at all. She says she had doubts beforehand and thought about calling it off, but thought it was cold feet and didn’t want to disappoint everyone so she was prepared to live with the consequences. When she learned the marriage wasn’t legal, she saw it as a sign/second chance.

    • Wait, I didn’t answer the question, lol. It depends on what the drama is – outside kids need not apply – but I think I’d stay. I wouldn’t expect marriage to be rosy all the time so I’d chalk up that first year to a rough transition.

  11. I know I don’t comment much but here are my two cents.

    May not be legal in court, but you vowed before God, friends and family until death do you part. There is also part of the vows that says “through thick and through thin.” So what if you dealt with some drama in the marriage, It’s part of being married.

    So if you TRULY was wanting to be MARRIED then you work through the drama and problems and not run because you see an out.

    In my opinion, anyone who would say they would leave wanted the wedding, and not the Joys and Difficulties of an actual MARRIAGE.

    Just my opinion.

  12. Sounds interesting! Thanks for the new blog link also lol.

    I’d THINK I would walk.
    I THINK LOL

Leave a Reply

