Last Night’s Dinner

 I am blessed to not have to cook very often since I live with a chef..LOL!! But when I do, I try to fix something that I feel I have mastered and that my chef will enjoy. Here’s last night dinner (and today’s leftovers), white bean chicken chili.

You want this!

Here’s the recipe:

White Bean Chicken Chili

  Ingredients

  • 2 cans white beans undrained ( or you may cook your own )
  • 1 can navy beans
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 2 medium onions chopped
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 -3 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into ½-inch cubes
  • 1 can Rotel hot tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp crushed dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • ½ cup sour cream (optional)

Directions

  1. Heat a large pot over medium-high heat add oil and, when hot but not smoking, add onions and garlic sauté until tender.
  2. Stir in chicken and sauté for 5 minutes, stirring frequently, until thoroughly cooked.
  3. Add cumin, oregano, black pepper, seasoned salt and red pepper flakes and stir until well combined.
  4. Place beans, chicken broth and Rotel tomatoes in pot; bring to a boil.
  5. Reduce heat and simmer until flavors are well blended.
  6. Add more water or stock, if needed or thicken with cornstarch and water if needed.
  7. Serve warm, garnished with sour cream, cheddar cheese and salsa, if desired.
8 thoughts on “Last Night’s Dinner

  1. I had to post to let you know that I made this last night and it was delicious! At first, The Mister wanted no parts of it when I told him what I was making. I made him taste it and he ate 2 bowls.

  2. You gave me this recipe last year and I can’t wait to make it again this year! Soooo good! I used some leftover rotisserie chicken…def part of the arsenal!

  3. I’ve made white chicken chili before but I’m semi-ashamed to say the flavor came from one of those mystery seasoning packets in the gravy aisle. I like to know what I’m putting in my food so I will be trying this!

  4. Yummy!! I’m not good at eyeballing it. How long would you say it takes for all the flavors to blend well?

    • @AR Gal: 10-15 minutes at the most. I add a little cornstarch with water to thicken it up and I keep seasoning it till I like the taste. Hubs eats his with crushed tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl and lots of cheese and sour cream on top. The chips get a little soggy from the soup and it is GOOD. Excellent leftovers.

      • Thanks for this! We are always looking for new things to try that will suit both our palates. I think this fits the bill.

  5. That looks marvelous! I shall be trying your recipe out. As soon as these almost-November temperatures drop below 90. Dear Fall, wherefore art thou???

  6. umm, can you please stop giving us non-cooking new wives a bad name??? Girl, that looks TASTY. I might have to surprise Old Dude.

Leave a Reply

