Name Change Game

Myron says my name is High Maintenance! LOL!

We finally got our marriage license in the mail yesterday. I am a bit relieved because now I can get about the business of changing my name legally. It’s been a bit of a pain being in name change limbo. Now I can change my email address at work and my ID badge since my co-workers all call me T-Mack now. LOL!!

I wish I could do everything on-line because gathering up a bunch of forms to take them to the DMV, Social Security Office and the bank is not my idea of how I want to spend my Friday off this week. But I’m going to try to get the major ones done this week and then see what I can change over the phone like my utilities and cell phone bills. Are there others I need to change over that I am missing?

Who out there isn’t planning on doing a name change if you got married or if you are already married???

15 thoughts on “Name Change Game

  1. Hubby didn’t care either way so I hyphenated for a bit and then decided to just take his last name entirely. SS card, drivers licenses, and passports were the biggies that I took care of asap. As correspondence started coming in, I went ahead and started changing stuff gradually.

    Airline frequent flyer miles were a major time suck — I had to mail or fax copies of my marriage license in. The ticket counter agents at the airport were MOST unhelpful, not even when confronted with passports/DL/marriage certificates.

  2. Girl…all of your house utilities, voter registration card (might wanna go by your maiden name since the election’s so close!), investments, retirement fund, house note, car note, insurance, passport. I wish I had my notebook with all of my notes in it with me, but I think that’s it!

    Can’t do ANYthing without your driver’s license and SS card…do those first.

  3. I add his name to my maiden name (no hyphen) and changed it with the SSA, DMV and banking. For work, I use the whole thing or just my maiden. For everything else, I use my married name. Didn’t seem to be too much of a hassle. I haven’t run into any trouble on the few items that still have just my maiden name, since my ID has both.

    • @Karen: It isn’t worth it to me. I’m not paying someone 30 bucks for forms I can gather all over the internet. It might take a little bit more time to pull everything together but just seems like a rip-off to me. Welcome back BTW!! Let’s see those re-caps!

  4. I went last week. I dunno if it’s like this all over but in NY you have to go to SS first. Then you have to wait 7-10 days for the SS card. Then you have to bring that & the marriage license to do everything else. It took us most of the day waiting around the SS office to answer 5 Q’s and be done. We didn’t even go to the DMV, banks, passport office, etc. yet. I’m hoping some of them (*cough*DMV) I can just send in a form.

  5. We’re planning to take each others’ last names as second middle names. I’m not looking forward to having to go through all of the paperwork. I think I saw an online service that will gather everything and take care of it for you. I might go that route.

  6. I didn’t change my last name,at least not legally when I was married. I got married pre-9/11 and nobody bothered me about hyphenating or adding or subtracting my husbands last name whenever I felt like it. But no all of your ID better match up or God forbid you might not be able to board a plane train or bus!

    I’m 20 years older than when I got married and feeling a little more of the old-fashioned values, so this time I will legally change my name. No hyphen just first name/my family name/married last name, that will be my whole name.

  7. I’m in the midst of the name change now. It is worrisome, to say the least. Geez.

  8. Although nowhere near marriage, I thought about that. I’ll be branding this name as an attorney in a very short while. Will I want to give that up? I thought about hyphenating but that does depend on what hubby-to-be’s last name is, lol. Some names just don’t flow.

    Did you always know you’d change your name?

    • @Jurista: I didn’t have a strong opinion about it one way or another. I don’t work in a field like yours where my name would be attached to my work. I’m a feminist to some degree about certain issues but this is not one I get all up in arms about. He requested I change my name to his, I did.

  9. Wish I could help you but you know I didn’t have to change my name. I’m sure I’m supposed to do something, but I don’t know what. I guess I’ll google -I would think I need to tell the social security office that I have a spouse…

Leave a Reply

