Un-Invited

Remember the RSVP snafu from this post???

Well I sent soror A an inbox message on Facebook  to chat with her about it. I would have emailed her but she never checks her email and time is of the essence at this point. I explained that I didn’t invite soror B and there was reasoning behind it. I also told  her that I would be more than happy to contact soror B and gently “uninvite” her. Fortunately for me, soror A was mature about the whole thing and offered to tidy things up herself.  I’m glad but I would have no hesitation about typing those words or making that call.

While I’m on the subject of sororities, for my readers who aren’t familiar I am a member of a historically black service sorority. With that being said, I have 28 line sisters (pledge sisters is another way to understand it).

I am friendly with them all (at least the ones we can keep up with) but not close to all of them. So I didn’t invite them all, even those whose weddings I had been invited to; though that may have been 5-10 years ago. So it’s beyond me to why soror B would even want to come to my wedding. We don’t talk. Other than seeing her at homecoming or posting on our internal listserv, there is no communication. So spending $35 on a plate for her ass is not going to happen. She can go and be nosy at someone else’s wedding. I am probably being somewhat Bridezilla and perhaps not very gracious but oh well. There were some people I really wanted to invite and couldn’t due to having to invite family so she definitely wouldn’t have made the cut in the first place.  Perhaps if she just hadn’t assumed, I probably wouldn’t have cared as much.

Well, I try to keep it real on the blog and  and as such, you get to see the good, the bad and somewhat ugly part of wedding planning. LOL!!! I think I am done ranting now. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Un-Invited

  1. I think you’re far from being a Bridezilla. Hell even if you had all the money in the world to spend on the wedding, the point is you didn’t want her there. It’s just that simple.

  2. @Gladys: “Weddings are not Happy Hours”. I need to put that on my blog!

    Good for you, Tiff. I’ve had to make some tough choices, too. Case in point, I’m friends with YOU, but not your man who I’ve never seen, met, or spoken to AND you know like 8 other people at the wedding since we all went to school together, thus you won’t be lonely…You will notice that I sent your invite addressed to just YOU. It wasn’t an oversight, I didn’t invite him. Sorry. If his not coming means you don’t want to come thenYOU have a choice to make and I can invite someone else.

  3. For real “She can go and be nosy at someone else’s wedding.” made me laugh OUT loud!! Glad to hear it worked out. I did the same with college friends. An old roommate actually. I went to her wedding 10yrs ago but I’ve only seen her once since then (5yrs ago) and on facebook. She can be pissed if she wants but choices have to be made. Good for you – for holding your ground! 🙂

  4. It’s your wedding! If you don’t want negative energy there, they are uninvited! The end.

  5. You did the right thing. Weddings are not happy hours.

  6. Bridezilla? Please! You are far from that! You prioritized and did what worked for you and the groom. Ol’ girl was way out of line!

Leave a Reply

