Hey Mr. DJ!

We're actually having a DJ, but you get the idea...

Commenters (and lurkers) I need your help. If you have never, ever, ever commented before, I need you to comment on this post.

I need help with creating a playlist for my wedding. So if you would be so kind, tell me some of your favorite songs, title and artist. Tell me what makes you get up and start getting your proper shake on. My musical tastes lean to pop, R&B, and hip hop (especially old school).

Also, tell me what are some good ceremony songs, both secular and gospel. Think back about the weddings you have been in or attended and think about the music, what worked and what didn’t.

Drop all that musical love in the comments, please!!!

17 thoughts on “Hey Mr. DJ!

  1. dance:
    push it, s & p
    don’t stop believing, journey
    billie jean, mj
    kiss, prince

    ceremony:
    all you need is love, beatles
    sheep may safely graze
    canon in d

  2. Lets stay in love by Blackstreet, we had this for our first dance.

  3. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) – Marvin Gaye <–cute song to play while cutting the cake

    Adore – The Pretty One (aka Prince lol)

    Brick House – The Commodores <– I dance every. single. time. this song is played.

    Roll It Gal – Alison Hinds (or the remix with Machel Montano)

    Suavemente – Elvis Crespo

    One suggestion: If your DJ plays slide/shuffle songs (e.g., Chacha, Electric, Cupid, etc.), please don't have them play the full extended versions. It's hard to slide, be cute, look amused, and act like my feet don't hurt in 4 inch heels for 7 minutes straight πŸ™‚

  4. Okay, I went to a wedding this weekend and it was so much fun. The music was fan.tas.tic. EXCEPT they didn’t have any Michael or Prince. Gasp! So, don’t forget those. They could be a playlist by themselves. Also, throw some reggage too. Can’t forget your college years. H

  5. I’d like to add on to Honest’s dancehall suggestions: Calabria by Enur always gets me in the mood.

    Something softer: Dance with my Father – Luther Vandross

  6. I think you guys got it covered. I’d add some dancehall to that mix too:

    Don’t have specific tittles but artists:

    Beanie Man
    Sean Paul
    Shabba Ranks
    Buju Banton

    oh and because I just bought Kelis’ new CD I just reminded myself of:

    Milkshake – Cute dance number

  7. Make me whole by Amel Larrieux

    and

    When I first saw you from Dreamgirls are nice ceremony songs I think.

    Oh and my love sweet love by patti labelle from waiting to exhale soundtrack.

    Together forever by Shai

    Of course, the stevie standards You and I, ribbon in the sky (though I do think its kinda played out)

    Here and now, Lutha.

    everyone else got you covered!

  8. The only song we played at our wedding was At Last. Etta, not B.

    Reception….what everybody else said! Let’s see what else…

    I Like It – DeBarge
    Let’s Groove Tonight – EWF
    Mighty Love – The Spinners
    Good Love – Johnny Taylor
    Fire – Ohio Players
    Shake Ya Tambourine – Eve

  9. Now this is my kind of post!

    International Players Anthem by UGK feat. Andre 3000
    Don’t Talk by Jon B.
    Hey Mr. DJ by Zhane
    You’re the One by SWV
    Empire State of Mind by Jay-Z
    There Goes My Baby by Usher
    I Got it Made by Special Ed

    Throw in some Salt N Pepa, some more UGK and some more old school R&B

    That’s all I could think of off the top of my head.

  10. Blame it – Jamie Foxx
    Lionel Richie – All Night Long
    Children’s Story – Slick Rick
    Joy and Pain – DJ Ezzy Rock
    Before I Let Go – Maze
    Shoop – Salt n Pepa
    Party Up – DMX
    Head Banger – LL Cool J

  11. Ceremonial music – Canon in D Minor (Pachelbel), The One He Kept for Me (Maurette Brown Clark)

    Reception music – everything above along with some Guy, DeBarge, SWV, Will Smith and Jazzy Jeff, Ice Cube, etc.

  12. Everybody else has listed a lot of good music. I like to get down-t at receptions! Just have good music that will keep people on their feet and the reception will go on for ours if that’s what you want. Bad music will have people leaving before y’all can cut the cake. I’ll add:

    Crazy In Love – Beyonce & Jay Z
    For You – Kenny Latimore
    Live Your Life – T.I.
    Hey Ya! – OutKast
    They Humpty Dance – Digital Underground
    Umbrella – Rihanna and Jay Z
    Whatta Man – Salt N Pepa

  13. Definitely something by Michael Jackson. My fav…..Don’t stop til you get enough.

    You & I–Stevie Wonder

    At last–Etta James

  14. I JUST send my playlist yesterday. Before that, I posted an almost identical post to yours! Here’s the part of my list you’d be interested in!

    She Is – Carl Thomas & LL Cool J
    Hello/Good Morning – Diddy Dirty Money
    Teach Me How To Dougie – Cali Swag District
    Only You – Mase & 112
    Before I Let Go — Frankie Beverly & Maze
    September – EWF
    Groove Line – Heatwave
    Let’s Get Married Remix – Jagged Edge
    I Look Good (remix) – Challie Boy
    Candy – Cameo
    Spend My Life With You – Eric Benet & Tamia
    How Low Can You Go – Ludacris
    Da Butt – EU
    Back that Thang Up – Juvenile
    Upgrade You – Beyonce & JZ
    We Are Family – Sister Sledge
    Celebration – Kool & The Gang
    Salt Shaker – Ying Yang Twins
    Get Me Bodied – Beyonce
    Bad Mamma Jamma – Carl Carlton
    Bring It Back – 8 ball & MJG
    Juicy – Biggie Smalls
    PYT – Michael Jackson
    Gin & Juice — Snoop
    Outstanding – Gap Band
    Whatever You Like – TI
    Daddy’s Home – Usher
    The Point of it All – Anthony Hamilton
    My Man – Angie Stone
    Wifey – Next
    Step in the Name of Love — RKelly

  15. I’ll have to send you an email. Too much for me to comment here, especially trying to do it from my phone.

    • We asked our guests to help us build our music list and we got a crazy mix of music from rock to hip hop to R&B and soul…I LOVE THAT about our crazy friends! As for me…I love house music and 90’s hip hop, so there WILL be some Jungle Bros., Tribe Called Quest, and De La Soul.

  16. Everlasting Love- Natalie Cole is a great song to play while cutting the cake or taking pics

    Songs that get me on the dance floor-
    This is How we Do it- Montell Jordan
    I Get Around- Tupac
    Push It- SaltnPepa
    Nuthing but a G Thang- Dre and Snoop
    Big Poppa- Biggie Smalls
    Apache- Sugarhill Gang

    I could come up with more if I had my Ipod with me. This is just off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

