Good Eats

Where is AB when you need him????????????

The time has come to schedule our food tasting and I am looking forward to it. Unfortunately, it’s scheduled for September 1st and my fiance’ will be in Vegas with his groomsmen on “The Hangover, Part 2”! (I hope they have bail money.)

Our package comes with a LOT of options. We are allowed to select the following:

  • 2 cold appetizers
  • 1 hot appetizer
  • 1 dip
  • a salad
  • a vegetable
  • a starch
  • 2 entrees OR 1 entree and 1 carving station meat

Doesn’t sound that hard, huh??? WRONG!!!

There are 16 cold/hot appetizers, 4 dips, 2 salads, 9 chicken, 7 seafood, 5 beef and 4 pork choices to select from. Now that you have taken that in and caught your breath, there 10 starches and 9 veggies to pick from. And don’t forget the 5 carving stations, either.

Is your head spinning yet?

Thought so.

I’d looked at the menu some months ago and ticked off some choices in each category but I needed to discuss with Myron and get his input for the the items I could actually TASTE at the food tasting. We can taste 3 entrees, 2 vegs and 2 starches.

The items that we are firm on are the appetizers.

They are:

  • shrimp ceviche with toast points
  • deviled eggs with caviar
  • seafood beignets with lemon cilantro sauce
  • spinach and artichoke dip
  • chicken brochettes with mango chutney (this is the backup choice)

We are also going to do a carving station – herbed crusted pork loin with rolls with mango habanero sauce/raspberry chipotle sauce and the regular mixed salad with Ranch and Italian dressings.

The entrees that I plan to taste are:

  • Cajun Chicken topped with crawfish in a spicy creole sauce
  • Fillet Pontchartrain topped with an artichoke/shrimp/crabmeat sauce
  • Sliced Sirloin Steak with a green peppercorn sauce

The starches (we like potatoes, lol):

  • Scalloped Potatoes
  • Garlic Herbed Smashed Potatoes

The veggies (nothing really sexy about the choices):

  • Creamed Spinach
  • Vegetable Medley

So this is where we stand so far on the choices. Myron and I tasted some of our venue’s food at the open house we attended and it was pretty good. It’s a lot to think about and I want to make some good selections that my guests will like because there is nothing worse than going to a wedding and the food totally sucks ass!! My mom is going to come with me. Her taste buds are pretty simple so I hope she won’t be overwhelmed. I can bring up to 4 folks, so I might need to draft a friend to come as well for some balance.

I will be sure to take pictures and do a follow up post so I can give ya’ll some good food p.or.nage!!!

8 thoughts on “Good Eats

  1. I am SALIVATING! I def. wanna know what you pick! Sounds great!

  2. I’m so hungry. ~sigh~

  3. Wow! That will be a lovely spread. I’m sure between you and your mom, great choices for your guests will be made.

  4. Dang – well seeing as how Myron is practically a chef I’m surprised he’s missing it. LOL Just kidding. That all sounds really good. We have our tasting tonight… can’t wait!!

  5. I love food pics!! Can’t wait to see them.

  6. I used to love giving tastings to engaged couples!! Enjoy it and trust your gut (no pun intended). Trust your instincts and have fun!

  7. Shoot, Allllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll that sounds good to me. I’ll go with you! Nom nom nom!

  8. I don’t want to know what you pick….surprise me !

Leave a Reply

