TIH: Author

(photo credit, My Publisher website)

I wrote a book!

Well sorta, kinda. Let me explain.

I had been wanting to put together a photo book of personal photos and our engagement shots for our parents. I also wanted to use one as a guest book for folks to sign at the wedding. I did some research courtesy of Mr Google and found this. I got a really good recommendation from my blogger buddy Sing Like Sassy about MyPublisher and so I decided to check it out. I went onto the website and saw that they were offering a buy one, get one offer for their basic photo book. I downloaded the software and spent the better part of last night messing around with our pictures. I ended up with a classic, 20 page photo book. There are so many different permutations of page and text layouts that you could literally take days to play with the designs.

The software is super easy to use and it was a lot of fun to put it together. Myron was playing his Xbox while I was working on it and he gave his input right on the spot so it was pretty cool to make the changes and see them take effect immediately. Once you have gotten your layout right, the software prompts you to correct any spelling errors, modify your font and adjust any picture sizes as necessary. Once, you give it the final once over and check the yes box, you upload your book to their servers, pay them and wait for it to come via FedEx. With the buy 1, get 1 deal plus shipping, I paid about $41 bucks.

There is a way to share my book via web link so I will do that once I get the hard copies in hand. I will definitely be doing something similar once we get the wedding photos back. There is a coffee table book that comes with our photo package but I will be keeping that for US and making everyone else their own books for these prices.

So I guess I did in a way, a little bit of DIY. Yay me! LOL!!!!

Anyone else done photo books, for any occasion? Would you do this??

(My Publisher didn’t pay me to write this, I just liked their product although if they want to send me free stuff I won’t mind.)

9 thoughts on “TIH: Author

  1. I love photobooks. I’ve made a couple for my son’s great grandparents and god mother who all live out of town. I’ve used seehere.com and shutterfly. I’ll keep My Publisher in mind for the future.

  2. I can’t wait to see the fruits of your labor.

  3. Wow – great idea. I think this would be a great gift too!! Can I ask how long it took for you to receive it after you submitted it?

  4. That sounds like a cool idea. I don’t take enough picutres for that. Now my mom, she sleeps with her camera. LOL. By the way, love your disclaimer. LOL

  5. I did one for my mom and gave it to her for Mother’s Day this year. Did it through Shutterfly. She loves it! She wants one of pics of when I ran my first 5K. Gotta get on that!

  6. I’ve done several from some of the trips that I have taken. Love them. Can’t wait to see yours.

  7. I made one of these for an ex-boyfriend for xmas one year when we were together. It was our love story in pictures – turned out very cute! I’m glad I don’t have it or I’d burn it 🙂

  8. I actually do one about once a year as a gift for someone. Go TIH!

Leave a Reply

