In Their Own Words

I have come across some good word in the blogosphere this week and so I’d thought I’d cheat a little and point you in their directions..

First on deck is Dawn of Happy Nappy Bride (who is also a featured blogger on WedZilla) who speaks about how changing your outlook can change your situation:

“I also noticed that the right man did not come into my life until I decided that marriage is something that I want.”

That’s a profound statement in my opinion. The Bible talks about it (life & death are in the power of the tongue), self-help books talk about it (gotta believe it before you achieve it), sports teams talk about it (we set goals at the beginning of the season about what we want to have accomplished by the the end)…whatever it is, it’s deciding on something you want and then going for it. I’d love it if you went back and read Kesha’s entire comment, I think it’s deep.

Go read the rest HERE.

Next up at bat is Karen of 39 to Wife, who was inspired by Dawn to share her own experiences. This is what she had to say:

I just read a post from one of my fellow bloggers, Dawn {aka The Happy Nappy Bride}. And, like all good writing, it made me think.

For years, I was ambivalent about marriage. I would never admit that I wanted/needed anyone let alone a man or, God forbid, a HUSBAND. I considered myself a proverbial SBW {That’s strong Black woman…And no, I don’t think that this is just the domain of Black women, so feel free to insert any ethnic identity here}.

Go read the rest of Karen’s VERY good post HERE.

And finally stepping up to pinch hit (liking these baseball analogies, huh?) is Nerd Girl, who is a married veteran of 10 years! Here are her thoughts on keeping things in perspective:

Warning:  I’m rambling today!

Smoochy and I started dating right before I turned 21.  I’m now 37 (and rapidly approaching 38!)  I’ve been with the same man for 16 years and don’t regret a minute of our time together.  We’ve had some great times, some bad times, but most of our lives together has been happy, middle-of-the-road good.  Not a whole lotta drama, no real issues, just a nice, happy life.  Yeah, I wish he’d lose weight.  Yeah, he wishes I’d clean up a bit more, but neither of these are dealbreakers for us.  One time he pissed me off so badly I prayed he’d die in his sleep.  He didn’t.  Life went on.

So, I read a number of blogs and on one of them there’s a regular feature ‘would you date him?’  Specs are given and then everyone chimes in on whether or not they’d date that particular dude.  Of course, there’s always a variety of opinions – too tall, too short, too old, wrong job, mama’s boy, too much history, etc. etc.

Read the rest HERE.

Go forth, read, and leave comments!!! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.


3 thoughts on “In Their Own Words

  1. Thanks for the shout out, Tiffany!

  2. I have to agree with this somewhat. My dating experiences changed when I decided and really personally comitted to the fact that I wanted a serous relationship that led to marriage. It seems like I started attracting a different type of man and my experiences were quite different.

  3. Good looking out!

Leave a Reply

