The First Day

My first day at work was pretty uneventful. My manager handed me a thick spreadsheet to start reviewing and I waited for the IT folks to set up my phone and computer. I tweeted and texted alot (I was discreet!) because I didn’t have much to do and I spent some time casually perusing being nosy on the intranet. I now know way more than I ever cared to about pumps and valves. I’m an accountant. I don’t care about the widget, I just care how much we are selling it for and what’s the margin.

My little piece of real estate is unfortunately right by the copy machine and of course everyone loves to have church right by the copy machine. I’m gonna need to get some earphones for my BlackBerry so I can tune all the chatter out. I’m also back in a cube. I had my own office at the last contract gig and boy did I get spoiled. The atmosphere is totally different at this place. It’s quieter and folks seem a bit more distant. But for the hourly rate that I’m getting paid, I can make it work. My manager seems pretty friendly and it’s 7 minutes from home. You can’t beat that with a bat!

That’s my report from the corporate plantation…more hijinks to come I’m sure!

5 thoughts on “The First Day

  1. Anybody comment on your shoe game yet?

  2. everyone loves to have church right by the copy machine

    LOL, that is a great term for the “congregating” folks do.

  3. Girl I am the only one without an office. So of course the mailman, the UPS man, the FEDEX man, all walk right by the real receptionist (in her office) and head straight to my desk. I am an accountant too, and we don’t take lightly to signing our name on stuff. LOL

  4. Happy New Job Day!

    I’m also a contractor and my cube is also next to the copier, shredder, color printer {If one more person asks where they can get more paper, I will kill them!} so YES I highly recommend earphones!

  5. Don’t they know accounting people need offices?! LOL Congrats on the new gig!

Leave a Reply

