Today

Standard

Today I didn’t do jackshit. And it was good.

I woke up at 8AM, headed to the bathroom and got back in the bed. I rolled over on my left side and scrolled through my twitter feed. I texted with a friend who had a really good date the night before. My husband came in to give me a good morning kiss and hop in the shower. Saturdays he gets his hair cut at 9AMish or so. He dressed and rolled out.

I sat upon my bed pillow and cut on the TV. I opened up my Chromebook to mess around on FB. I read the statuses of folks running around doing errands, working out, hauling kids here and there, and generally being productive. Yeah, no.

I fell back asleep.

I woke up when Myron came back home. He brought lunch home.

We ate, watched multiple episodes of Too Cute on Animal Planet. My cell rang. I went upstairs and cackled with my homegirl for an hour or so. Myron took a nap.

I got off the phone, came back downstairs, assumed my place on the short end of the sectional, and promptly fell back asleep. When I woke up it was dark. Myron had started dinner. I got up and did some laundry. He played Madden on the Xbox.

Then I started typing this blog. Now we’re watching videos on YouTube on the big TV.

I used to feel a bit guilty about not doing much on the weekends sometimes. Especially when it seems like everyone so busy, so over-scheduled, ripping and running around. Now I don’t. It was one of those Saturdays. And you need one like this every now and then.

Sometimes more than now and then.

8 responses »

  1. Those are the best days! I wouldn’t feel guilty about about spending your days as such. To me, those are really needed every now and then to gain balance in your life.

  2. I’ve been there on many weekends. Like I only leave my house to walk the dog and that’s it for 2 entire days. I don’t do it too often but once in a while you just need time to recharge your batteries.

  3. No! I be needing breaks from just thinking! I tell my students after my back to back classes on Saturdays that I’m going to watch some reality tv and zone out!

Leave a Reply

