Odds And Ends: Nothing Is Constant But Change

Standard

I’m still here. I’ve had so much to say but couldn’t talk about it. But I can say this: God works in mysterious way and I am extremely thankful for His grace and mercy. You all know that I’ve been stressed out the majority of the year dealing with my job and my difficulties with my manager and have been interviewing all year. I interviewed for a contract to hire position on Friday, October 12th.

I got fired on Monday, October 15th. Now I’ve been fired/laid off before so I know how these things go. You go into a conference room and hear the spiel from the manager and HR about why you are getting a pink slip.. But this was a bit new for me. I was being fired, but I was eligible for re-hire.  Say what now?? Also, my plantation was not going to contest me filing for my unemployment benefits. WDDDA?  Now I was thinking that something was up. My old manager had left from the conference room at this point so I asked the HR rep to confirm what he’d just told me and she did. She then asked me: You don’t seem surprised that this happened. I told her that I wasn’t but I wasn’t worried because his opinion did not define me and that I serve a mighty God. Her response: Don’t worry, folks like that always get what is coming to them. You just let God work it out.

You could have knocked me over with a feather. Normally HR folks toe the company line so I was surprised to hear this.

We went over some other paperwork dealing with my 401K and she told me they would pay me out in lieu of a notice until November 2nd. I went on home and prepared to get my job search grind on.

I got a call about that other job I interviewed for on October 17th. Fired on Monday, new job on Wednesday.

I started last Monday, 11/5. Essentially I had a paid 3 week vacation, although I did do some other interviewing and networking in the interim. I’m actually waiting to see if I will be selected for a permanent gig that I interviewed for and made it to the second round of. If not, at least I know the role I have right now is very long term.

The funny thing about this is I was talking with a now former coworker about how I’d gotten a good vibe about the interview and the manager that interviewed me but I was scared about making such a jump because the job was contract to hire and not permanent. Well looks like God gave me a little push, didn’t he? I’ve slept like a baby every night since leaving my old plantation. I’m less stressed which means Myron is less stressed. I’m not coming home crying anymore. I’ll get benefits and vacation through the contract company. My hourly rate means I got an instant 7K raise. And I have the flexibility to keep on looking for another job if I want to.

What did I learn from this? No job is worth your sanity and peace of mind, even if it is “permanent”. Sometimes, you have to step out on faith. And even when your faith isn’t all that strong, thankfully God’s is stronger.

29 responses »

  1. “Sometimes, you have to step out on faith. And even when your faith isn’t all that strong, thankfully God’s is stronger”

    You have no idea how this ministered to me today! No idea.

    I am so happy things worked out for the greater good! Congratulations on the new gig. If I know nothing else, God hears us and he is faithful!! BIG hugs!

    Now let me hold twenny!

  2. “Sometimes, you have to step out on faith. And even when your faith isn’t all that strong, thankfully God’s is stronger.”

    This right here…I needed to hear this today.

  3. Yay to being stressless! I totally understand your position. This line in particular has resonated with me today as I was dreading coming into work: No job is worth your sanity and peace of mind, even if it is “permanent”. Sometimes, you have to step out on faith. And even when your faith isn’t all that strong, thankfully God’s is stronger.

    So excited to see the next steps He has for you! He’s surely using as an encouragement in the meantime :)

  4. You have said a WORD here. I remember when you started talking about your new manager and the “not quite right” vibe you got from him. This post spoke to me. I was in a contract position for almost a year, no hire date in sight…took an 8K paycut for a permanent position with tuition reimbursement….11 months later job is so stressful haven’t used the tuition reimbursement. The financial stress is awful, awful, awful and the work stress is too. I know what I have to do. Update my resume and move on. Thank you TIH!

  5. Praise Him! Glad you are away from that stressful situation. Going to a job that you hate or one that hates you is awful. God answered your prayers, girlie! What a blessing and congratulations!

  6. All of this right here! My old gig had me stressed, depressed and being plain ole spiteful. I never understood the true meaning of “hating your job” until my former gig. And then I got this one. A new career path. In a field that compliments me. Just winning all around. I’m glad you listened to your heart in this matter. Looks like it’s working out!

  7. Congratulations, Tiffany!! That is awesome!! I’m always convinced when you get fired from a job you hate, it is a blessing and a push for you to do something you’re afraid to do. The same thing happened to me. So happy for your new peace!!

  8. God Bless you! I got fired Jan 5 from my job of 16 yrs that I hated with a passion. It has enabed me to go back to school. Something I wanted to do, but never would.

  9. “I’ve slept like a baby every night since leaving my old plantation. I’m less stressed which means Myron is less stressed. I’m not coming home crying anymore.”

    This really hit home for me.

    Here’s to an AWESOME GOD, a supportive husband and the bountiful blessings God has in store for you! ::Cheers::

  10. Wow! Congratulations indeed. Things definitely happen for a reason and clearly you’re moving ahead in a better place. Based on the HR dialogue seems your old manager probably gave HR some bullshyt too and they’re doing what they can but recognize the stupidity.

  11. I don’t get to read your blog as much as I’d like to, but I’m so glad I caught this post. What’s happened over the past few weeks is definitely the work of a higher power! Congrats, I’m happy that things are going well for you now!

  12. God is SO very good! Glad to hear things worked out for the best. Congrats on the new opportunity but most importantly, regaining your peace of mind!

  13. Congrats, Tiffany! I’m so happy for your new oppty, but even happier for your peace and peace of mind. Yay! Thank you for sharing your testimony.

Leave a Reply

