The Great Debate Is Over Today

The sprint to the finish line is almost done, a BILLION dollars has been spent, a ton of mud and accusations have been slung, hundreds of speeches have  been given and after 4 nationally televised debates Election Day is tomorrow. If you have not early voted already, I hope you get out and vote tomorrow. I hope that you assist someone with getting to the polls or babysit so someone can get to the polls. I hope (because I am biased and it’s my damn blog) that you will consider President Obama as worthy of your vote. I hope that you will be encouraged and not disgusted by the potential for long lines and will stand in them anyway, despite others attempts at suppression. I hope that if you are black, brown, yellow or a woman, that you recognize how important your vote is, because in the very recent past a lot of us could not vote all, or died trying, or were swindled out of a vote by a test or a tax.

I hope you look down the ballot, because after all politics is local. I voted to pay a few cents more in property taxes this time because all kids deserve to have better schools and some parents can’t afford private school, although I am not a parent. I voted for state representatives that represent my values and thought process even though I live in a state that routinely goes crimson. I might be outnumbered but I can’t be unarmed.

I hope you recognize that as a voter you have rights, that poll watchers are supposed to just watch and you should not be disenfranchised. If you have an issue at the polls, contact Election Protection at 1-866-OUR-VOTE (1-866-687-8683).

I hope that you recognize that every vote counts, even yours, and because this race is going to go down to the wire, that you will be steadfast and not let nobody turn you round.

It’s election day today. To the victor goes the spoils. May God bless the United States of America, no matter the outcome.

Leave a Reply

