What’s Been Cooking

Standard

So I’ve been on a bit of a cooking spree as of late..and that makes my husband very happy.

I was inspired by Babs, who made a crustless quiche this past weekend to try my hand at my own. My hodgepodge recipe is as follows:

1/2 medium onion diced

1 medium red bell pepper diced

minced garlic to taste

1 package of Jimmy Dean sausage

1 cup (or more) of shredded cheese of your choice

8 large eggs

salt/pepper/other seasoning.

I sauteed up my bell pepper and onion and added the garlic at the last minute because it will burn. Set to the side to cool.

Pan fry the sausage in a skillet and make sure you break it up fairly fine. No large chunks. Make sure to drain all of the grease off.

Whisk up your eggs, salt and pepper and any other seasoning you like. I added a dash of creole seasoning. I also added some heavy cream cause it makes your eggs fluffy.

Butter or grease your glass baking dish well as you don’t want the eggs to stick to the pan. I used an olive oil cooking spray.

Layer your sausage and veggies, then your cheese, then pour the eggs all over the top and make sure everything is even.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. The eggs should be firm but springy to the touch.

image

This what it looks like before you put it in the oven.

image

This is the quiche fresh out the oven.

image

This how it looks on my plate! I put a little sour cream on top too.

In addition to my quiche, I stumbled upon a great low carb recipe website and made a couple of the recipes from there. They were super easy!

image

Balsamic Cream Chicken with Mushrooms:

http://peaceloveandlowcarb.blogspot.com/2012/01/pan-seared-chicken-with-balsamic-cream.html

image

Creamy Chicken Scampi: http://peaceloveandlowcarb.blogspot.com/2012/10/creamy-chicken-scampi.html

My at home chef was very impressed and for him that’s a compliment, cause he is VERY picky about food.

Give these a try and let me know what you think!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Lady Should be a Chef in the Kitchen… « My life as Disco Diva!

  2. Pingback: Friday Randoms « My life as Disco Diva!

Leave a Reply

